Individual Development and the Curriculum (Routledge Library Editions: Education)

Individual Development and the Curriculum (Routledge Library Editions: Education)

By: Kieran Egan (author)Hardback

More than 4 weeks availability


This book describes four 'layers' or stages of education - Mythic, Romantic, Philosophic and Ironic and shows how children at each stage most effectively learn, and how they can be helped towards educational maturity. While drawing on a wide range of philosophical and psychological literature, this new theory is primarily constructed from close observation of children in their common and intense imaginative engagements, and in everyday educational practice.

Create a review


1. The Mythic Stage. 2 The Romantic Stage. 3 The Philosophic Stage. 4 The Ironic Stage. 5 Some Comments on the Stages. 6 Sensitive Periods and Content. 7 Curriculum Areas. Conclusions. Index.

Product Details

  • publication date: 08/12/2011
  • ISBN13: 9780415669528
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 4
  • ID: 9780415669528
  • weight: 217
  • ISBN10: 0415669529

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly