Inside the Tardis: The Worlds of Doctor Who

Inside the Tardis: The Worlds of Doctor Who

By: James Chapman (author)Paperback

Up to 1 WeekUsually despatched within 1 week


James Chapman's history of Doctor Who has been acclaimed by fans and scholars alike as a definitive book on the world's longest-running television science fiction series. In this new edition, published to mark the 50th anniversary of everyone's favourite Time Lord, Chapman has brought the story up to date to include the new series of Doctor Who as well as its spin offs Torchwood and The Sarah Jane Adventures. With new material on the eras of showrunners Russell T. Davies and Steven Moffat, and the latest incarnations of the Doctor in David Tennant and Matt Smith, this updated edition of Inside the Tardis shows how Doctor Who has triumphantly reinvented itself for the twenty-first century. Doctor Who has not only become essential viewing once again, but it is also one of television's most successful exports. Chapman maps both the continuities with classic Doctor Who, as well as exploring how the series has evolved to take account of new institutional and cultural contexts. Written by someone who is a life-long Doctor Who fan as well as a historian, this new edition of Inside the Tardis is essential and enjoyable reading for all those interested in both the classic series and its thoroughly modern reincarnation.

About Author

James Chapman is Professor of Film at the University of Leicester. He is a leading cinema and television historian and his books from I.B. Tauris include Licence To Thrill: A Cultural History of the James Bond Films, Saints and Avengers: British Adventure Series of the 1960s, Past and Present: National Identity and the British Historical Film, and (with Nicholas J. Cull) Projecting Empire: Imperialism and Popular Cinema and Projecting Tomorrow: Science Fiction and Popular Cinema.


Preface to the Second Edition Chapter 1 A Space-Age Old Curiosity Shop (1963-1966) Chapter 2 Monsters, Inc (1966-1969) Chapter 3 Earthbound (1970-1974) Chapter 4 High Gothic (1975-1977) Chapter 5 High Camp (1977-1980) Chapter 6 New Directions (1980-1984) Chapter 7 Trials of a Time Lord (1985-1989) Chapter 8 Millennial Anxieties (1996) Chapter 9 Second Coming 2005 Chapter 10 Love and Monsters 2006-2009 Chapter 11 Aliens of Cardiff 2006-2011 Chapter 12 Sarah Jane and Company 2007-2011 Chapter 13 Golden Jubilee 2010-2013 Appendices Lost Episodes Production Credits Notes Bibliography Index

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781780761404
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 384
  • ID: 9781780761404
  • weight: 366
  • ISBN10: 1780761406

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly