Introduction to Philosophical Problems

Introduction to Philosophical Problems

By: Joseph Margolis (author)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

£23.51 RRP £23.99  You save £0.48 (2%) With FREE Saver Delivery

Description

This is a classic introduction to philosophy in the tradition of Bertrand Russell's "The Problems of Philosophy" and A.J. Ayer's "Central Questions of Philosophy". As in those books, here Margolis focuses on the core of Western Philosophy - questions of epistemology, ontology, language and logic. "An Introduction to Philosophical Problems" represents a major and authoritative mind revisiting basic problems and clarifying them both for their own sake and for that of the reader. Margolis shows how arguments concerning each of the chestnuts of Western philosophy are inter-related and argues - honestly and transparently - in favour of his own philosophical tradition, pragmatism. Thematically structured, "Introduction to Philosophical Problems" introduces such concepts as Knowledge and Belief, Perception and Sensation, Identity and Individualism, and Language and Truth.

About Author

Joseph Margolis is Laura H. Carnell Professor of Philosophy at Temple University. Margolis has published two dozen books and has had numerous visiting professorships (including New Zealand, South Africa and Canada). See www.pragmatism.org/library/margolis/margolis.htm. One of America's leading, most celebrated, philosophers.

Contents

Preface; 1. Knowledge & Belief; 2. Perception & Sensation; 3. Doubt & Certainty; 4. Existence & Reality; 5. Identity & Individuation; 6. Actions & Events; 7. Language & Truth; 8. Mind & Body; 9. Facts & Values; Epilogue; Further Reading; Index.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780826490636
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 320
  • ID: 9780826490636
  • ISBN10: 0826490638

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly

Close