ITIL Foundation Essentials: The Exam Facts You Need

ITIL Foundation Essentials: The Exam Facts You Need

By: Claire Agutter (author), IT Governance Publishing (editor)Paperback

1 - 3 days availability


Prepare for the ITIL Foundation exam ITIL is best practice for IT Service Management, developed by the UK government and globally adopted in both the public and private sectors. ITIL is not prescriptive, but rather it is a framework that organisations can adopt and adapt. The Foundation Certificate is the entry-level ITIL qualification, which offers candidates a general awareness of the key elements, concepts and terminology used in the ITIL service lifecycle. The aforementioned elements, concepts and terminology of ITIL have been condensed into this pocket guide to provide candidates with the essential facts they need in order to pass the ITIL Foundation exam. All you need to know to achieve ITIL Foundation Certification An official ITIL(R) Licensed product, ITIL(R) Foundation Essentials is a distillation of critical information - no waffle or padding - just exactly what you need to understand how to pass the ITIL Foundation exam. Written for self-study candidates, ITIL community training delegates, itSMF/BCS members and V2 Foundation Certificate holders, who have yet to take an upgraded exam, this pocket guide is fully aligned with the ITIL 2011 core volumes. Project managers, who are looking to expand their qualifications, and IT contractors or consultants, who don't want to take time out from their day jobs to attend a course, will also find this pocket guide an essential companion to their studies and education. The complete ITIL Foundation syllabus THE essential companion for those studying the ITIL Foundation syllabus, the pocket guide covers key areas including: *A basic introduction to ITIL and a description of service classifications (core, enabling, enhancing) and an outline of internal and external services. *A point-by-point summary of the purpose, objectives, scope and value of the five stages of the service lifecycle that form the ITIL core; from strategy and design, through to transition, operation and continual service improvement (CSI). *Separate sections in the guide are dedicated to describing ITIL key concepts and terminology (including "stakeholders" and "processes, functions and roles") and throughout the pocket guide the wide range of 3, 4 and 5 letter ITIL acronyms (including PBA, FMITS, BRM, SLM, OLA, SLR, VBF, ITSCM, SACM, RADM) are expanded and explained. *A brief summary of the ITIL qualification scheme and the Foundation exam. The ideal revision guide for the ITIL Foundation examination

Create a review

About Author

Claire Agutter has been an ITIL principal lecturer since 2007. She has been involved in exam panels for ITIL V2 and V3, and has provided online ITIL training to hundreds of successful Foundation delegates through IT Training Zone Ltd.


Introduction 1 Chapter 1: Introducing ITIL 3 Chapter 2: Services 5 Service classifications 6 Internal and external services 6 Types of service 7 Chapter 3: Service Management 9 Service management as a professional practice 9 IT service management 10 Chapter 4: Stakeholders 11 Chapter 5: Processes, Functions, Roles 13 Processes 13 Functions 14 Roles 14 Chapter 6: The Service Lifecycle 17 Service Strategy 18 Service Design 20 Service Transition 21 Service Operation 23 Continual Service Improvement (CSI) 24 Chapter 7: Service Strategy 27 Concept: Value creation 27 Concept: Utility and warranty 29 Concept: Risk management 30 Concept: Governance 30 Concept: Patterns of Business Activity (PBA) 31 Service Strategy processes 31 Chapter 8: Service Design 39 Model: 4 Ps 39 Concept: Five major aspects of Service Design 40 Service Design processes 42 Chapter 9: Service Transition 63 Service Transition processes 63 Chapter 10: Service Operation 87 Concept: The importance of communication 87 Service Operation processes 90 Service Operation functions 106 Chapter 11: Continual Service Improvement (CSI) 113 The CSI approach 113 Measurement 113 The Deming Cycle 116 The Seven-Step Improvement Process 117 The CSI register 121 Chapter 12: Roles 123 Process owner 123 Process manager 123 Process practitioner 124 Service owner 125 The RACI Model 125 Chapter 13: Service Management Automation 127 Planning for automation 128 Chapter 14: Service Management Skills and Training 129 Chapter 15: The ITIL Qualification Scheme 131 Chapter 16: The Foundation Exam 133 ITG Resources 135

Product Details

  • publication date: 06/09/2012
  • ISBN13: 9781849283991
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 148
  • ID: 9781849283991
  • weight: 119
  • ISBN10: 1849283990

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly