It's All In Your Head: A Guide to Getting Your Sh*t Together

It's All In Your Head: A Guide to Getting Your Sh*t Together

By: Rae Earl (author), Jo Harrison (illustrator), Dr. Radha Modgil (contributor)Paperback

In Stock

£7.19 RRP £9.99  You save £2.80 (28%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20

Description

"A warm hug of a book ... a true gem" Buzzfeed This witty, honest and enlightening guide to the whirrings of your brain is the perfect read for any young person who's ever felt overwhelmed, at a loss or in a downward spiral. From the author of My Mad Fat Diary, Rae Earl, it's full of friendly advice, coping strategies and laugh-out-loud moments to get you through the difficult days. Most of all, this is a book from someone who gets it - someone who won't try and fob you off with confusing jargon or irritating slogans, but instead will help you through it with a smile and a cup of tea on hand. Rae says: As a teenager, I was very adept at hiding my OCD, my anxiety, my depression and my eating disorders. That's why I've written this book - because I hate to think of any teen going through what I did, and feeling like they can't talk about it, or need to hide it. So let's break down some taboos and start a conversation. I want to help you come out the other side feeling happier and healthier, with a deeper understanding of what's going on in your head and how to navigate through life without feeling overwhelmed or isolated. Where my lack of medical background becomes an issue, Dr Radha swoops in to the rescue. As a GP, mental-health expert and co-host of BBC Radio 1's The Surgery, I've worked with her to make sure all the information and advice is spot-on. She's clever, she's kind and she GETS it. I wish my teenage brain had had access to Dr Radha. This is a book for fans of Gemma Cairney and Open, Ruby Wax and Frazzled, Matt Haig and Reasons to Stay Alive, Bryony Gordon and Mad Girl. And most importantly, it's a book to make you feel like you're not alone. You're really, really not.

About Author

Rae Earl (Author) Rae Earl (author) Rae Earl was born in Stamford, Lincolnshire in 1971. After some adequate schooling she went to Hull University & won the Phillip Larkin prize for a frankly magnificent dissertation. She then did every job in a radio station except 'accountant'. Her books My Mad Fat Diary and My Madder Fatter Diary have been made into a TV show that is shown in more than 50 countries worldwide. My Mad Fat Diary has been nominated for a host of awards, includng two BAFTAS. Rae lives in Hobart, Australia where she is currently writing, amongst other things, a TV drama about a female soccer team. Jo Harrison (Illustrator) Jo Harrison is an illustrator and a designer. Among other high-profile projects, she illustrated Girl Up and campaigns for Women's Aid and No More Page Three.

Contents

1: Looking After Your Head is a Lifelong Thing 2: Why Anxiety is Such a Problem 3: How to Punch Stress in the Face 4: 'It's a Laburnham Tree! Get it Away From Me!' Phobias 5: Fat. Fat. Fat or too Thin! Eating Disorders 6: 'If I just say the word God 12 times my mum won't die' OCD 7: `They won't shut up' Schizophrenia and Psychosis 8: 'But it Makes Me Feel Better' Self Harm 9: 'I Don't Feel Anything' Depression 10: How to Wear Your Diagnosis 11: Keeping Your Head Healthy 12: Self Esteem and How To Get It 13: I Am A Social Media Monster 14: Sex and Relationships 15: Friendships 16: Drink and Drugs 17: Parents 18: Random Things I Wish Someone Had Told Me But They Didn't 19: People Who Want to Help

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781526300027
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 288
  • ID: 9781526300027
  • weight: 378
  • ISBN10: 1526300028

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly

Close