It's Always Three O'Clock (The Library of Alabama classics)

It's Always Three O'Clock (The Library of Alabama classics)

By: Babs Hodges Deal (author)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks


This powerful Southern novel takes place in Scottsboro, Alabama (the novel's Bellefonte), between 1923 and 1946 and focuses on the life of Eileen Holder and her classmates from their sophomore year in high school through the carefree days of the 1920s, the devastation of the Great Depression, and the disruption of World War II. The theme of the novel is change--change in the American South and in the lives of the characters. Through a thoughtful development of human relationships, the author provides a memorable commentary on the ability of people to survive during times of extraordinary change. When this book was first published in 1961, Wyatt Blassingame, in the New York Times Book Review, said the author "has a real gift for physical description, especially where used in connection with the passage of time. This is a device she uses often and extremely well."

About Author

Babs H. Deal is a native Alabamian who was born in Scottsboro. Her other books include Acres of Afternoon, The Grail, Fancy's Knell, High Lonesome World, The Crystal Mouse, The Walls Came Tumbling Down, Waiting to Hear from William, Goodnight Ladies, and The Reason for Roses.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780817304942
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 352
  • ID: 9780817304942
  • ISBN10: 0817304940

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly