Izzy Gizmo

Izzy Gizmo

By: Pip Jones (author), Sara Ogilvie (illustrator)Children's & Novelty

Only 1 in stock

£5.24 RRP £6.99  You save £1.75 (25%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20

Description

Meet Izzy Gizmo - a fabulously feisty new character from Pip Jones (Squishy McFluff; Daddy's Sandwich) brought brilliantly to life with exuberant and detailed illustrations from the best-selling illustrator of TheDetective Dog, Sara Ogilvie. Izzy Gizmo, a girl who LOVED to invent, carried her tool bag wherever she went in case she discovered a thing to be mended, or a gadget to tweak to make to make it more splendid. Izabelle Gizmo just loves to invent, but her inventions never seem to work the way she wants them to. And that makes her really CROSS! When she finds a crow with a broken wing she just has to help. But will she be able to put her frustrations to one side and help her new friend to fly again? Shortlisted for the Sainsbury's Children's Book Prize 2017, this empowering book is perfect for fans of Rosie Revere, Engineer, Fantastically Great Women Who Changed the World and Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls. `If you're looking for a new book with a determined, strong female role model then this is for you' Being a Mummy blog `This was such a fun book. We need more books with girl inventors!' Twirling Book Princess blog `This exuberantly riotous story... blends the fun of rhyme with the touching friendship between a charismatic crow and a never-say-die young inventor'Lancashire Evening Post `A lovely story of ingenuity and determination' Parents in Touch `I doubt many will fail to fall for Izzy and her mechanical mind. Pip Jones' rhyming narrative is a cracker to read aloud and Sara Ogilvie's imagination must be almost as fertile as young Izzy's... A real riot.' Red Reading Hub blog `Jones's loping, engaging rhymes and Ogilvie's vivacious images evoke both inspiration and frustration' The Guardian

About Author

Pip Jones is a London based children's author, feature writer, columnist and editor, most often found writing or herding children. She is the author of the award-winning Squishy McFluff series for Faber. Sara Ogilvie is one of Booktrust's Best New Illustrators. Since graduating in 1993 with an illustration/printmaking BA Hons and a PG diploma in 1994 from Edinburgh College of Art, Sara has continued to create and develop work which has been exhibited across the UK and abroad. She has won numerous awards for her work including a Commonwealth heads of Government commission to create a co-published lithograph with Edinburgh Printmakers, presented to Nelson Mandela, HRH the Queen and heads of State. SARA OGILVIE is one of Booktrust's Best New Illustrators. She studied Illustration and Printmaking at Edinburgh College of Art and now lives in Newcastle Upon Tyne.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780857075130
  • Format: Children's & Novelty, Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 32
  • ID: 9780857075130
  • ISBN10: 0857075136

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly

Close