J. Frank Dobie: A Liberated Mind (Charles N. Prothro Texana Series)

J. Frank Dobie: A Liberated Mind (Charles N. Prothro Texana Series)

By: Steven L. Davis (author)Hardback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks


The first Texas-based writer to gain national attention, J. Frank Dobie proved that authentic writing springs easily from the native soil of Texas and the Southwest. In best-selling books such as Tales of Old-Time Texas, Coronado's Children, and The Longhorns, Dobie captured the Southwest's folk history, which was quickly disappearing as the United States became ever more urbanized and industrial. Renowned as "Mr. Texas," Dobie paradoxically has almost disappeared from view-a casualty of changing tastes in literature and shifts in social and political attitudes since the 1960s. In this lively biography, Steven L. Davis takes a fresh look at a J. Frank Dobie whose "liberated mind" set him on an intellectual journey that culminated in Dobie becoming a political liberal who fought for labor, free speech, and civil rights well before these causes became acceptable to most Anglo Texans. Tracing the full arc of Dobie's life (1888-1964), Davis shows how Dobie's insistence on "free-range thinking" led him to such radical actions as calling for the complete integration of the University of Texas during the 1940s, as well as taking on governors, senators, and the FBI (which secretly investigated him) as Texas's leading dissenter during the McCarthy era.

About Author

STEVEN L. DAVIS is the Assistant Curator at the Southwestern Writers Collection/The Wittliff Collections at Texas State University-San Marcos and serves as editor of the Southwestern Writers Collection book series, published by the University of Texas Press. His previous books include Texas Literary Outlaws: Six Writers in the Sixties and Beyond.


Acknowledgments A Liberated Mind Part 1: Rebel of the Lost Cause Chapter 1: Along the Ramirenia Chapter 2: The Education of a Brush Countryman, 1904-1912 Chapter 3: From Texas to New York, 1913-1914 Chapter 4: Fighting Conformity, Courting Bertha, 1914-1916 Chapter 5: The Great War, 1915-1919 Part 2: The Rising Star Chapter 6: A Rangeland Epiphany, 1920-1921 Chapter 7: The Making of a Folklorist, 1921-1923 Chapter 8: The Rising Star, 1923-1926 Chapter 9: Voices of the Southwest, 1926-1930 Chapter 10: Regionalism Goes National, 1929-1930 Part 3: Mr. Texas Chapter 11: Dobie in Bloom, 1930-1934 Chapter 12: Into Mexico, 1933-1935 Chapter 13: The Flavor of Texas, 1936 Chapter 14: The Austin Liberals, 1936-1938 Chapter 15: Apache Gold vs. Pale Horse, 1937-1939 Part 4: Texas Needs Brains Chapter 16: The Longhorns, 1939-1941 Chapter 17: True Patriotism and the Singing Governor, 1940-1941 Chapter 18: The Liberal Hero, 1941-1943 Chapter 19: A Contemporary of Himself, 1943-1946 Chapter 20: A Texan in England, 1943-1946 Chapter 21: Texas Needs Brains, 1946-1947 Part 5: Elder Statesman Chapter 22: Coyote Wisdom, 1948-1953 Chapter 23: Elder Statesman, 1951-1958 Chapter 24: Literary Dictator, 1952-1960 Chapter 25: End of an Era, 1955-1959 Part 6: Twilight Chapter 26: One Touch of Nature, Plus, 1960-1962 Chapter 27: Sunset, 1962-1964 Chapter 28: Dobie's Legacy Notes Selected Bibliography Index

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780292721142
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 296
  • ID: 9780292721142
  • weight: 595
  • ISBN10: 0292721145

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly