Jeanette Winterson (Contemporary British Novelists)

Jeanette Winterson (Contemporary British Novelists)

By: Susana Onega (author), Daniel Lea (series_editor)Paperback

In Stock

£14.71 RRP £15.99  You save £1.28 (8%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20


This is the first full-length study of Jeanette Winterson's complete oeuvre, offering detailed analysis of her nine novels as well as addressing her non-fiction and minor fictional work. Susana Onega combines the study of formal issues such as narrative structure, perspective and point of view with thematic analyses approached from a variety of theoretical perspectives, from narratology and feminist theory to Hermetic and Kabalistic symbolism, to provide a comprehensive 'vertical' analysis of Winterson's novels. Onega reveals the books as complex linguistic artefacts, crammed with intertextual echoes. She demonstrates the inseparability of form and meaning within Winterson's work, and positions her within the wider context of contemporary British fiction alongside fellow visionaries such as Peter Ackroyd, Maureen Duffy and Marina Warner.

Create a review

About Author

Susana Onega is Professor of English Philology (English Literature) at the University of Zaragoza, Spain


Introduction 1. Of priests and prophets 2. History and storytelling 3. The art of love 4. Multiple selves and worlds 5. Only connect. Conclusion

Product Details

  • publication date: 19/05/2006
  • ISBN13: 9780719068393
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 272
  • ID: 9780719068393
  • weight: 340
  • ISBN10: 0719068398

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly