Jenufa Katya Kabanova

Jenufa Katya Kabanova

By: Leos Janacek (author), Otakar Kraus (translator), Edward Downes (translator), John Nicholas (editor)Paperback

2 - 4 weeks availability


This double volume contains two masterpieces of the late-flowering genius of the Czech composer Leos Janasek. Jenufa was the opera which finally brought him international recognition - and, with it, fame at home; it was the fruit of over twenty-five years of work. A tragedy with a happy ending, its moving story seems to embody the spirit of Moravian village life. Katya, on the other hand, was composed in an uninterrupted flow during the year 1920: based on Ostrovsky's The Storm, it contains wonderful love music inspired by the composer's love for a much younger woman. The scores are discussed by Arnold Whittall in a comparative essay, and the background sources are variously introduced by social and literary historians. John Tyrell comments on an important and newly discovered letter about the genesis of Katya; Sir Charles Mackerras describes his work as an interpreter and advocate of this brilliantly original and dramatic music.

Create a review

About Author

Leo Janacek (1854 1928) was a Czech composer and teacher. Until 1895 he devoted himself mainly to the study of national folklore music, which greatly influence his work throughout his life. "

Product Details

  • publication date: 07/02/2011
  • ISBN13: 9780714544342
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 128
  • ID: 9780714544342
  • weight: 181
  • ISBN10: 0714544345

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly