Jerry Herman: The Lyrics

Jerry Herman: The Lyrics

By: Ken Bloom (author), Jerry Herman (author)Hardback

1 - 2 weeks availability


Jerry Herman is one of Broadway's most celebrated composers and lyricists, this book includes early lyrics from Herman's first Broadway revues and shows, songs cut from his best-loved shows, and new lyrics.

Create a review

About Author

Ken Bloom is a world-renowned authority on the history of Broadway and show music. He is the author of the Broadway Encyclopedia (Routledge, forthcoming), along with a massive, 6-volume index to popular songs of the 20th century. He lives in New York City. Jerry Herman lives in Hollywood, California.


Chapter 1 Off Broadway: 'There Comes a Time', 'Jolly Theatrical Season', 'In The Sack', 'My Type', ' I Wish I Could Say', 'Two a Day', That's Judy Garland', ' Our Hearts Belong to Mary', 'As for the Future I'll Dance', 'The Girls Who Sit and Wait'; Chapter 2: Milk and Honey, 'Shalom', 'Milk and Honey', 'There's No Reason in the World', 'Chin Up Ladies', 'That Was Yesterday', 'Let's Not Waste and Moment', 'Like a Young Man', 'I Will Follow You', 'Hymn to Hymiw', 'Finale Act II'; Chapter 3 Hello, Dolly!, 'Opening', 'I Put My Hand In', 'Put on Your Sunday Clothes', 'Ribbons Down my Back', 'Dancing', 'Before the Parade Passes By', 'Hello, Dolly!', 'Come and Be My Butterfly', 'It Only Takes a Moment', 'So Long Dearie', 'A Penny in My Pocket', 'Love Look in My Window', 'World Take Me Back', 'Just Leave Everything to Me', 'Love is Only Love'; Chapter 4 Mame, 'St. Bridget', 'It's Today', 'Open a New Window', 'The Man in the Moon', 'My Best Girl', 'We Need a Little Christmas', 'The Fox Hunt', 'Mame', 'Opening of Act II', 'Bosom Buddies', 'Gooch's Song', 'That's How Young I Feel', 'If He Walked into My Life', 'It's Today', 'Loving You'; Chapter 5 Dear World, 'The Spring of Next Year', 'I'll Be Here Tomorrow', 'I Don't Want to Know', 'I Never Said I Loved You', 'Garbage', 'Dear World', 'Kiss Her Now', 'The Tea Party', 'And I Was Beautiful', 'One Person', 'Have a Little Pity on the Rich', 'Through the Bottom of a Glass', 'Just a Little Bit More', 'A Sensible Woman'; Chapter 6Mack and Mabel 'Movies Were Movies', 'Look What Happened to Mabel', 'Big Time', 'I Won't Send Roses', 'I Wanna Make the World Laugh', 'Mack and Mabel', 'Wherever He Ain't', 'Hundreds of Girls', 'When Mabel Comes in the Room', 'Hit 'Em on the Head', 'Time Heals Everything', 'Tap Your Troubles Away', 'I Won't Send Roses', 'I Promise You a Happy Ending'; Chapter 7 Grand Tour, 'I'll Be Here Tomorrow', 'Two Possibilities', 'For Poland', 'I Belong Here', 'Marianne', 'We're Almost There', 'More and More/Less and Less', 'One Extraordinary Thing', 'I Think I Think', 'You I Like', 'I Belong Here'; Chapter 8, La Cage Aux Folles, 'We Are What We Are', 'Mascara', 'With Anne on My Arm', 'Song on the Sand', 'La Cage Aux Folles', 'I Am What I Am', 'Masculinity', 'Look Over There', 'Dishes', 'The Best Of Times'; Chapter 9 Mrs. Santa Claus, 'Mrs. Santa Claus', Avenue A', 'A Tavish Toy', 'Almost Young', ' Mrs. Santa Claus', 'We Don't Go Together At All', 'Whistle', 'He Needs Me'; Chapter 10 Miss Spectaular, 'Miss What's Her Name', 'Las Vegas', 'Ziegfeld Girl', 'Sarah Jane', 'Where in the World is My Prince', 'No Other Music', 'I Want to Live Each Night', 'Miss Spectacular', 'My Great Dream'; Chapter 11 Broadway Miscellaneous, 'Let's Go to the Movies', 'Nelson', 'Take it all Off', 'Jerry's Girls', 'To Be Alone with You', 'Too Charming', 'I'll Be Here Tomorrow'

Product Details

  • publication date: 09/10/2003
  • ISBN13: 9780415967686
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 256
  • ID: 9780415967686
  • weight: 861
  • ISBN10: 0415967686

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly