Jonathan Coe (New British Fiction)

Jonathan Coe (New British Fiction)

By: Vanessa Guignery (author)Paperback

1 - 2 weeks availability

£14.71 RRP £15.99  You save £1.28 (8%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20


Jonathan Coe is a highly-acclaimed writer whose work has enjoyed worldwide success. This study, the first of its kind, explores the full range of Coe's work, offering readers a comprehensive and accessible overview of his novels, fiction and other writings, as well as the surrounding criticism. The volume also features a new interview with Coe.

Create a review

About Author

Vanessa Guignery is Professor of English Literature and Postcolonial Literature at the Ecole Normale Superieure de Lyon, France. She is the author of Novelists in the New Millennium (2012), also published by Palgrave Macmillan.


General Editors' Preface Acknowledgements PART I: INTRODUCTION Timeline 1. Introduction 2. A Biographical Reading PART II: MAJOR WORKS 3. 'Funny, Brutalist and Short': The Accidental Woman, A Touch of Love and The Dwarves of Death 4. State-of-the-nation Novels: What a Carve Up!, The Rotters' Club and The Closed Circle 5. Gravity and Grace: The House of Sleep and The Rain before it Falls 6. Everyman on the Road and Abroad: The Terrible Privacy of Maxwell Sim and Expo 58 PART III: CRITICISM AND CONTEXTS 7. Author Interview 8. Other Writings 9. Critical Reception Bibliography Index

Product Details

  • publication date: 02/12/2015
  • ISBN13: 9781137405821
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 192
  • ID: 9781137405821
  • weight: 212
  • ISBN10: 1137405821

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly