Journeys through the Life and Music of Nancy Van de Vate

Journeys through the Life and Music of Nancy Van de Vate

By: Burt Jerome Levy (author), Laurdella Foulkes-Levy (author)Mixed Media

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks


Nancy Van de Vate is an important late twentieth-early twenty-first century woman composer, who has written over one hundred musical works in all forms, from songs to choral works, musical theater pieces, and operas, and from solo instrumental compositions to chamber music, and large works for orchestra, including concertos. As only the second woman in the United States to earn a doctorate in music composition, she is an active feminist, promoting the rights of women composers in particular.

About Author

Laurdella Foulkes-Levy is Assistant Professor of music at the University of Mississippi and has been President of the Organization of Kodaly Educators. Burt J. Levy is a composer and music composition instructor at the University of Mississippi.


Part 1 Introduction Part 2 Part 1: Biography Chapter 3 1 The Early Years: 1930-1955 Chapter 4 2 The Years of Academic Life: 1955-1975 Chapter 5 3 Hawaii and a New Beginning: 1975-1981 Chapter 6 4 Indonesia, Another World: 1981-1985 Chapter 7 5 Vienna, a New Musical World: 1985-1990 Chapter 8 6 Fulfillment of a Musical Life: 1990-2001 Part 9 Part 2: Musical Works Chapter 10 7 Prelude Chapter 11 8 The First Decade and a Half Chapter 12 9 Musical Interlude I: Adagio for Orchestra (1958) Chapter 13 10 Years of Aesthetic Travel: the 1970s Chapter 14 11 Musical Interlude II: Concertpiece for Cello and Small Orchestra (1978) Chapter 15 12 Grand Emotions: The 1980s Chapter 16 13 Musical Interlude III: Distant Worlds (1985) Chapter 17 14 Musical Interlude IV: Katyn (1989) Chapter 18 15 Synthesis: 1990-2001 Chapter 19 16 Musical Interlude V: Nemo: Jenseits von Vulkania (Act IV, Scene 1, 1995) Part 20 Appendix A: Chronological List of Works Part 21 Appendix B: Works by Genre: Premieres, Publications, Recordings Part 22 Appendix C: List of Works on Accompanying CD Part 23 Bibliographies Chapter 24 Writings and Lectures by Van de Vate Chapter 25 Selected Writings about Van de Vate Part 26 Index Part 27 About the Authors

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780810851351
  • Format: Mixed Media
  • Number Of Pages: 432
  • ID: 9780810851351
  • weight: 558
  • ISBN10: 0810851350

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly