Just William: Volume 9 (Jarvis and Ayres)

Just William: Volume 9 (Jarvis and Ayres)

By: Richmal Crompton (author), Martin Jarvis (reader)Audio Book

1 - 2 weeks availability

£13.89 RRP £16.34  You save £2.45 (15%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £25


Now as famous on radio and audio as they are in print, the adventures of that irrepressible and ageless schoolboy William Brown have been delighting both young and old for decades. Perpetually scruffy, mud-stained and mischievous, he is a lovable scamp whose pranks usually end in disaster - for his harassed elders at least. With friends Ginger, Douglas and Henry and the angelic thorn-in-his-side, the lisping Violet Elizabeth Bott, William has rightly joined the literary, and radio, immortals. This collection includes the following twelve stories: 'William the Rat Lover'; 'William the Showman'; 'William And the Monster'; 'William The Persian'; 'The New Game'; 'William and the Love Nest' 'The Cat And The Mouse'; 'Waste Paper Wanted'; 'William The Globe Trotter'; 'William And The Prize Pig'; 'A Present From William' and 'A Night Of Mysteries'. 'There's nothing to touch them' - Independent on Sunday. 3 CDs. 2 hrs 55 mins.

Create a review

About Author

Richmal Crompton was born in Bury, Lancashire, in 1890. She was educated at St. Elphin's School and studied Classics at Royal Holloway College before becoming a schoolmistress. However, her teaching career was cut short by an attack of polio in 1923, which confined her to a wheelchair. She became a full-time author, and wrote over 40 books for adults, but she is best known for her hugely popular Just William books. William first appeared in 1919 in a short story for Home Magazine. The first collection featuring him was published in 1922, and he went on to star in 38 further books (the final one, William the Lawless, was published posthumously in 1970). They have sold over 12 million copies in the UK alone, been translated into nine languages and remain enduringly popular today.

Product Details

  • publication date: 07/06/2004
  • ISBN13: 9780563524861
  • Format: Audio Book
  • running time: 175
  • ID: 9780563524861
  • weight: 175
  • ISBN10: 0563524863
  • edition: Jarvis and Ayres

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly