Kenya: A History Since Independence

Kenya: A History Since Independence

By: Charles Hornsby (author)Hardback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks


Since independence from Great Britain in 1963, Kenya has survived five decades as a functioning nation-state, holding regular elections; its borders and political system intact and avoiding open war with its neighbours and military rule internally. It has been a favoured site for Western aid, trade, investment and tourism and has remained a close security partner for Western governments. However, Kenya's successive governments have failed to achieve adequate living conditions for most of its citizens; violence, corruption and tribalism have been ever-present, and its politics have failed to transcend its history. The decisions of the early years of independence and the acts of its leaders in the decades since have changed the country's path in unpredictable ways, but key themes of conflicts remain: over land, money, power, economic policy, national autonomy and the distribution of resources between classes and communities. While the country's political institutions have remained stable, the nation has changed, its population increasing nearly five-fold in five decades. But the economic and political elite's struggle for state resources and the exploitation of ethnicity for political purposes still threaten the country's existence. Today, Kenyans are arguing over many of the issues that divided them 50 years ago. The new constitution promulgated in 2010 provides an opportunity for national renewal, but it must confront a heavy legacy of history. This book reveals that history.

About Author

Charles Hornsby holds a D.Phil on Kenyan politics from St Antony's College, Oxord and has combined a professional caree in information technology with a deep engagement with Kenya. He is the co-author (with David Throup) of 'Multi-Party Politics in Kenya' (1998).


1: Introduction 2: Independence! 3: Struggle for the State 4: Multi-Party, but not Democracy, 1966-1969 5: Golden Years, 1970-1974 6: Rigor Mortis, 1975-1978 7: Too Many Cooks, 1978-1983 8: Heavy Footsteps, 1984-1989 9: A Second Liberation? 1990-1992 10: Conflict and Change, 1993-1997 11: Unnatural Succession, 1998-2002 12: Back to the Future, 2003-2008 13: Epilogue: Cold War, 2008-2009 14: Conclusions

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781848858862
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 736
  • ID: 9781848858862
  • ISBN10: 1848858868

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly