Key Thinkers on Space and Place (2nd Re... | WHSmith Books
Key Thinkers on Space and Place (2nd Revised edition)

Key Thinkers on Space and Place (2nd Revised edition)

By: Rob Kitchin (editor), Phil Hubbard (editor)Paperback

Only 1 in stock

£34.19 RRP £37.99  You save £3.80 (10%) With FREE Saver Delivery


In this latest edition of Key Thinkers on Space and Place, editors Phil Hubbard and Rob Kitchin provide us with a fully revised and updated text that highlights the work of over 65 key thinkers on space and place. Unique in its concept, the book is a comprehensive guide to the life and work of some of the key thinkers particularly influential in the current 'spatial turn' in the social sciences. Providing a synoptic overview of different ideas about the role of space and place in contemporary social, cultural, political and economic life, each portrait comprises: Biographical information and theoretical context.An explication of their contribution to spatial thinking.An overview of key advances and controversie. Guidance on further reading. With 14 additional chapters including entries on Saskia Sassen, Tim Ingold, Cindi Katz and John Urry, the book covers ideas ranging from humanism, Marxism, feminism and post-structuralism to queer-theory, post-colonialism, globalization and deconstruction, presenting a thorough look at diverse ways in which space and place has been theorized. An essential text for geographers, this now classic reference text is for all those interested in theories of space and place, whether in geography, sociology, cultural studies, urban studies, planning, anthropology, or women's studies.

About Author

Phil Hubbard is Professor in Urban Studies in the University of Kent's School of Social Policy, Sociology and Social Research. Rob Kitchin is a professor and ERC Advanced Investigator in the National Institute of Regional and Spatial Analysis at the National University of Ireland Maynooth, for which he was director between 2002 and 2013. He has published widely across the social sciences, including 23 books and 140 articles and book chapters. He is editor of the international journals, Progress in Human Geography and Dialogues in Human Geography, and for eleven years was the editor of Social and Cultural Geography. He was the editor-in-chief of the 12 volume, International Encyclopedia of Human Geography, and edits two book series, Irish Society and Key Concepts in Geography. He is currently a PI on the Programmable City project, the Digital Repository of Ireland, and the All-Island Research Observatory. He has delivered over 100 invited talks at conferences and universities and his research has been cited over 600 times in local, national and international media. His book 'Code/Space' (with Martin Dodge) won the Association of American Geographers 'Meridian Book Award' for the outstanding book in the discipline in 2011 and a 'CHOICE Outstanding Academic Title 2011' award from the American Library Association. He was the 2013 recipient of the Royal Irish Academy's Gold Medal for the Social Sciences.


Preface to the Second Edition - Phil Hubbard and Rob KitchinIntroduction: Why Key Thinkers? - Phil Hubbard and Rob KitchinBenedict Anderson - Euan HagueMark Auge - Peter MerrimanTrevor Barnes - Suzanne ReimerJean Baudrillard - David B Clarke and Marcus A DoelZygmunt Bauman - David B Clarke and Marcus A DoelUlrich Beck - Lewis HollowayBrian Berry - Gordon L ClarkHomi K Bhabha - Constantina PapouliasPierre Bourdieu - Gary BridgeJudith Butler - Minelle MahtaniAnne Buttimer - Tom MelsManuel Castells - Phil HubbardMichel de Certeau - Mike CrangStuart E Corbridge - Simon BatterburyDenis Cosgrove - Keith LilleyMike Davis - Donald McNeillMichael Dear - Donald McNeill and Mark Tewdwr-JonesGilles Deleuze - Marcus A Doel and David B ClarkePeter Dicken - Jonathan A BeaverstockArturo Escobar - Simon Batterbury and Jude L FernandoMichel Foucault - Chris PhiloJ K Gibson-Graham - Wendy LarnerAnthony Giddens - Barney WarfReginald Golledge - Rob KitchinDerek Gregory - Barney WarfTorsten Hagerstrand - Robin FlowerdewPeter Haggett - Robin FlowerdewStuart Hall - Don MitchellDonna Haraway - Lewis HollowayJ Brian Harley - Keith LilleyDavid Harvey - Noel Castreebell hooks - Katherine McKittrickTim Ingold - Hayden LorimerPeter Jackson - Don MitchellCindi Katz - Tracey SkeltonBruno Latour - Eric LaurierHenri Lefebvre - Rob ShieldsDavid Ley - Paul RodawayKevin Lynch - John R GoldDoreen Massey - Felicity CallardLinda McDowell - Sarah HallAnssi Paasi - Rhys JonesAllan Pred - Alan LathamGillian Rose - Minelle MahtaniEdward W Said - Karen M MorinSaskia Sassen - James FaulconbridgeAndrew Sayer - Andy C PrattAmartya Sen - Simon Batterbury and Jude L FernandoDavid Sibley - Minelle MahtaniNeil Smith - Noel CastreeEdward J Soja - Alan LathamGayatri Chakravorty Spivak - Robina Mohammad and James D Sidaway Michael Storper - Suzanne ReimerPeter Taylor - Jim GlassmanNigel Thrift - Barney WarfGerard Toal - Euan HagueWaldo Tobler - Robin FlowerdewYi-Fu Tuan - Paul RodawayJohn Urry - Peter AdeyPaul Virilio - David B Clarke and Marcus A DoelImmanuel Wallerstein - Jim GlassmanMichael J Watts - Thomas PerreaultBenno Werlen - Roland LippunerRaymond Williams - Don Mitchell and Carrie BreitbachAlan Wilson - Graham ClarkeIris Marion Young - Felicity CallardGlossary

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781849201025
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 528
  • ID: 9781849201025
  • ISBN10: 1849201021
  • edition: 2nd Revised edition

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly