Kris Kristofferson: Country Highwayman (Tempo: A Rowman & Littlefield Music Series on Rock, Pop, and Culture)

Kris Kristofferson: Country Highwayman (Tempo: A Rowman & Littlefield Music Series on Rock, Pop, and Culture)

By: Mary G. Hurd (author)Hardback

More than 4 weeks availability


Singer-songwriter Kris Kristofferson has maintained a career in music and film for more than forty years. He was the oldest son in a military family that planned for him to continue the tradition of military service, but he resigned his commission to pursue a career in songwriting. In Nashville, where he spent five years working menial jobs and learning to write songs, he combined his loneliness and alienation with countercultural directness to produce raw, emotional songs and generated eight studio albums through the 1970s that regularly joined the top 100 on U.S. country charts-four of which broke into the top ten. A fallow period followed in the 1980s and 1990s, but when Kristofferson re-emerged in the mid-2000s at age 70 with new studio albums, he again broke through both country and indie charts. In Kris Kristofferson: Country Highwayman, Mary G. Hurd surveys the life and works of this highly respected American songwriter. For many, Kristofferson's songs remain the gold standard of modern songwriters, and Kris Kristofferson follows the commitment to freedom of expression that has characterized his songwriting and struggles with the music industry. The author also explores his film career, work with the Highwaymen, liberal activism, decision to write and record two albums of material protesting the U.S. government's intrusion in Central America, and reflowering as a musical artist with the release of This Old Road in 2006 and other studio albums. Kris Kristofferson: Country Highwayman should appeal not only to dedicated fans of Kristofferson's work as an artist but also to anyone interested in country music and its influence on modern Americana and the roots of music traditions.

Create a review

About Author

Mary G. Hurd is retired from East Tennessee State University, where she was director of film studies and a member of the English department faculty. She is the author of Women Directors and Their Films and numerous articles and reviews.


Introduction Chapter 1: Beginnings and Influences: "Pick up that guitar, Go break a heart" Chapter 2: "Freedom's just another word for nothing left to lose": 1965-1970 Chapter 3: "Had to try to tame a thirst he couldn't name": 1971-1975 Chapter 4: "The going up was worth the coming down": 1977-1984 Chapter 5: Rebels, Outlaws, Highwaymen, 1985-1995 Chapter 6: "I don't believe that no one wants to know," 1985-1991 Chapter 7: "Ain't you come a long way down this old road": 1995-2014 Chapter 8 Conclusion Further Reading Further Listening Further Watching About the Author

Product Details

  • publication date: 04/06/2015
  • ISBN13: 9780810888203
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 180
  • ID: 9780810888203
  • weight: 394
  • ISBN10: 0810888203

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly