Laughter and Tears: A Family's Journey to Understanding the Autism Spectrum

Laughter and Tears: A Family's Journey to Understanding the Autism Spectrum

By: Ann Hewetson (author)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks


'Had we had just one wish to be granted in the past in coping with Mark's autism, what would we have asked for? We would have asked for the gift of wisdom. The wisdom that comes with knowledge.' - Ann Hewetson, Chapter 19 Laughter and Tears is a first-hand account of parenting Mark, a young man with autism, and also of a mother's struggle to understand and appreciate her son's condition. Ann Hewetson's moving and thoughtful account describes Mark's communication problems, sensory integration and food allergies, shared by many people with autism, but also tells of Mark's associated problems like rheumatoid arthritis and bipolar mood swings. The author recounts how she dedicated her life to finding out more about autism. Aided by her background in research and biology, she delves into the available literature and interweaves the narrative of Mark's life with illuminating pointers drawn from the work of Leo Kanner, Hans Asperger and Carl Delacato among others. Cutting-edge developments in the field, for instance co-existing psychiatric disorders, cognitive behaviour therapy and brain research, are also explained in a way that will be easily understood by any parent. Ann's journey from initial incomprehension and a desire to find a `solution' to her son's autism concludes with a resolution for both Mark and Ann as they arrive at a deeper understanding of autism and an appreciation of its strengths. This book will be indispensable to both parents and professionals in offering a unique, reflective account of Mark's exceptional life and also a wide-ranging exploration of useful and innovative approaches to autism.

About Author

Ann Hewetson is the parent of a young man in his thirties who has autism. She is the author of The Stolen Child: Aspects of Autism and Asperger Syndrome.


Acknowledgements. 1. Blowing in the wind. 2. A conflict in space. 3. Searching for causes. 4. The shadows gather. 5. A time to learn. 6. Is there no sense in sensation?. 7. Islets of ability and disability. 8. An uneven playing field. 9. The thoughts of a mnemonist. 10. Restoring equilibrium. 11. Moving forward. 12. Upwards we snake. 13. Over the rim and onto the plateau. 14. Descent and dissent. 15. All on a new year's eve. 16. Darkness falls. 17. So deep is the night. 18. Storm tossed. 19. Landfall. References. Index.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781843103318
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 224
  • ID: 9781843103318
  • weight: 345
  • ISBN10: 1843103311

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly