Laya Yoga: The Definitive Guide to the Chakras and Kundalini

Laya Yoga: The Definitive Guide to the Chakras and Kundalini

By: Shyam Sundar Goswami (author)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

£18.90 RRP £21.00  You save £2.10 (10%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20


With the growing interest in energy medicine in the West, the ancient Hindu tradition of chakra meditation has become increasingly important to both healers and spiritual seekers. While new to us, the chakras have long been studied in the East, with the spiritual science of layayoga having the profoundest knowledge of these energy centers. The fundamental aspect of layayoga is the arousing of dormant energy within the body through concentration and breathing exercises and the movement of this energy through the chakras to achieve supreme consciousness. Unlike kundalini yoga, which starts with the lower chakras and moves energy upward, layayoga meditation starts with the Sahasrara, the spiritual chakra that crowns the aura, and brings energy down to spiritualize each chakra in turn. Layayogahas long been viewed as the most comprehensive and deeply researched examination of the chakras available in the West. Its detailed, illustrated look at each of the chakras and the various meditations and mantras that go with them makes it a must for serious students of yoga.

About Author

Shyam Sundar Goswami (1891--1978) was the founder of the Goswami Institute of Yoga in Sweden, the first Indian institution of its kind in that country. He was a disciple of the great yoga master Balak Bharati and also wrote Hatha Yoga: An Advanced Method of Physical Education and Concentration.


Foreword to the Second Edition Foreword Preface Acknowledgments My initiation into Layayoga Introduction Part 1: Fundamentals of Layayoga 1 Layayoga and Ashtangayoga 2 Layayoga - Its Significance and Method 3 Kundalini - the Coiled Power 4 Mantra - Supra-sound Power 5 Bhutashuddhi - Purificatory Thought-concentration 6 Bhutashuddhi Pranayama - Purificatory Breathing Part 2: The Chakras System 7 Introduction to the System of Chakras 8 The Waidika System of Chakras 9 The Tantrika System of Chakras 10 Exposition of the Chakras 11 Exposition of the Chakras (continued) 12 Location of the Chakras Part 3: Concentration Practices 13 Physical Purification and Vitalization 14 Mental Purification and Rejuvenation 15 Posture, Breath-control and Sence-withdrawal 16 Practice of Dharana 17 Practice of Dhyana 18 Practice of Bhutashuddhi Note on the Pronunciation of Sanskrit Words and Mantras Glossary Bibliography Index

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780892817665
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 368
  • ID: 9780892817665
  • weight: 1
  • ISBN10: 0892817666

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly