Legends of Glory and Other Stories (23rd Revised edition)

Legends of Glory and Other Stories (23rd Revised edition)

By: Harry Mark Petrakis (author)Hardback

More than 4 weeks availability


Legends of Glory and Other Stories contains a novella and eight short stories by award-winning author Harry Mark Petrakis. In a departure from his previous, highly regarded work, Petrakis offers a fresh new perspective in the novella, "Legends of Glory," which Fr. Andrew Greeley has called a "masterpiece." For the first time, Petrakis deals with the traditions and emotions of a small Midwestern town caught in the whirlwind of the Iraq War. In a communal rite of mourning, each character embodies a different voice, a different perspective, in regard to patriotism and pacifism. Although the novella relates to the sacrifice of a young man, the grieving of parents, and the conflicts of a family, it explores human sorrow and anger unchanged from the time of the Trojan War. In a return to his earlier lyrical prose style, Petrakis also treats us to eight beautifully crafted short stories. "Beauty's Daughter" introduces a sullen-spirited Greek bakery owner and his lovely, more amiable wife. "The Birthday" considers the fear that most people have of the emotional and physical decline that the years bring and the reconciliation with death. In "The Wisdom of Solon," Solon, who does not realize that life cannot be neatly categorized within the mysterious relationships between men and women, finds that every action sets in motion a series of often bewildering consequences. The question of a proper marriage match and the struggle to make the right choice mark "The Rousing of Mathon Sarlas." And the longing to believe that something survives our mortal bodies even if reason dictates otherwise is central to "A Dishwasher's Tale." Completing the collection are "Christina's Summer," "Rites of Passage," and "A Tale of Color," which are also presented in an inviting prose style and individualized by engaging characters to provide readers with a cumulative sense of culture, geography, and sensibility.

Create a review

About Author

Harry Mark Petrakis is the author of twenty-one books, including A Dream of Kings, which was made into a major motion picture. He has held appointments at Ohio University as McGuffy Visiting Lecturer and at San Francisco State University as Kazantzakis Professor in Modern Greek Studies. He was twice nominated for the National Book Award in Fiction, won the O. Henry Award, and received awards from Friends of American Writers, Friends of Literature, and the Society of Midland Authors.

Product Details

  • publication date: 15/03/2007
  • ISBN13: 9780809327584
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 176
  • ID: 9780809327584
  • weight: 340
  • ISBN10: 0809327589
  • edition: 23rd Revised edition

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly