Leoncavallo: Life and Works

Leoncavallo: Life and Works

By: Konrad Dryden (author), Placido Domingo (foreword_author)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks


Leoncavallo: Life and Works is the first fully documented biography of the beloved and popular composer Ruggiero Leoncavallo (1857-1919), whose credits include Pagliacci and the operatic works Chatterton, Der Roland von Berlin, Zaza, Maia, Zingari, La boheme, and the incomplete trilogy Crepusculum. Author Konrad Dryden has amassed material from hundreds of unpublished letters and photographs, creating the most complete portrait of the composer to date. This book examines various facets of Leoncavallo's history: from his youth as the son of the Naples' judge who presided over the murder trial on which Pagliacci was based to his studies with the poet Giosue Carducci, and from his sojourn in France as a cafe-chantant pianist to his appointment in Egypt as music instructor to the Khedive. Careful documentation and plot synopses of Leoncavallo's numerous works are provided and his two U.S. tours are discussed. The biography also sheds new light on Leoncavallo's colleagues and contemporaries, including composers Mahler, Massenet, Puccini, Verdi, and Mascagni; singers Caruso, Ruffo, Tetrazzini, and Sanderson; and historical personalities like Toscanini, Hugo, Carducci, Wilhelm II, and Queen Victoria. A foreword by Placido Domingo, a photo spread featuring more than 25 photos, and an appendix offering the complete list of the composer's opus add to the bibliography and index, making this the ultimate reference on this important figure in music and opera history.

About Author

Dr. Konrad Dryden is professor of music and German at the University of Maryland-Europe and a frequent lecturer on verismo.


Part 1 Foreword by Placido Domingo Part 2 Foreword by Peira Leoncavallo Part 3 Acknowledgments Part 4 Archive Key Part 5 Introduction Part 6 Part 1: Biography Chapter 7 1. 1857-1877 Chapter 8 2. 1878-1888 Chapter 9 3. 1889-1892 Chapter 10 4. 1893-1894 Chapter 11 5. 1895-1897 Chapter 12 6. 1898-1905 Chapter 13 7. 1906-1911 Chapter 14 8. 1912-1915 Chapter 15 9. 1916-1919 Part 16 Part 2: Works Chapter 17 10. La nuit de mai Chapter 18 11. Chatteron Chapter 19 12. I Medici Chapter 20 13. Pagliacci Chapter 21 14. Seraphitus-Seraphita Chapter 22 15. La boheme Chapter 23 16. Zaza Chapter 24 17. Der Roland von Berlin Chapter 25 18. Maia Chapter 26 19. Malbruk Chapter 27 20. Gli zingari Chapter 28 21. Mimi Pinson Chapter 29 22. La reginetta della rose Chapter 30 23. Are You There? Chapter 31 24. La candidata Chapter 32 25. Mameli Chapter 33 26. Prestami tua moglie Chapter 34 27. A chi la giarrettiera? Chapter 35 28. Edipo re Chapter 36 29. Pierrot au cinema Chapter 37 30. La maschera nuda Chapter 38 31. Il primo bacio Part 39 Appendix: The Leoncavallo Opus Part 40 Bibliography Part 41 Index Part 42 About the Author

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780810858732
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 384
  • ID: 9780810858732
  • weight: 576
  • ISBN10: 0810858738

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly