Life with the Esquimaux 2 Volume Set: The Narrative of Captain Charles Francis Hall of the Whaling Barque George Henry from the 29th May, 1860, to the

Life with the Esquimaux 2 Volume Set: The Narrative of Captain Charles Francis Hall of the Whaling Barque George Henry from the 29th May, 1860, to the

By: Charles Francis Hall (author)Other Formats

1 - 2 weeks availability

£45.90 RRP £51.00  You save £5.10 (10%) With FREE Saver Delivery


In 1860, Charles Francis Hall (1821-71), the American polar explorer, embarked on the first of two voyages to the Canadian Arctic region aimed at investigating the fate of Sir John Franklin's lost expedition of 1847. During his time in the Arctic, Hall lived amongst the Inuit community, learning their language and embracing their everyday life. First published in 1864, Hall's recollections remain of great interest to anthropologists, sociologists and geographers. His eye-witness accounts of the indigenous people's dwellings, hunting pursuits, birth and death rites, transportation, interpersonal relationships, and survival strategies in severe weather conditions provide an insight into Inuit culture in the nineteenth century. Volume 1 describes Hall's journey north, arrival at Holsteinborg, the Danish administrative centre in Greenland, and onward voyage to Baffin Island. In Volume 2 he tells of his various journeys around Frobisher Bay, where he discovers artefacts from Martin Frobisher's sixteenth-century mining venture.

Create a review


Volume 1: Preface; Introduction; 1. Departure; 2. Land and visit the Governor; 3. Visit of Governor Elberg to the ship; 4. Crossing Davis's Straits; 5. Visit by the natives; 6. First visit to Frobisher Bay; 7. Boat incident; 8. Splendid displays of the Aurora; 9. Visit to Esquimaux village; 10. Remarkable echo; 11. Rough travelling overland; 12. Writing under difficulties; 13. Irksome change from a snow house to the ship's cabin; 14. Visit by some Innuits; 15. First excursion in Frobisher Bay; 16. Snow-blindness; 17. A successful deer-hunt. Volume 2: 1. Journey to the Unknown, or 'Dreaded Land'; 2. An excursion to the whaling depot; 3. The 'George Henry' free from her icy prison; 4. Departure on boat-voyage to explore Frobisher Bay; 5. Chewing old boots; 6. Encampment on Rae's Point; 7. Peale Point; 8. Departure from Greenwood's Land; 9. Land on an island; 10. A storm; 11. Visit to the friendly natives; 12. The anvil; 13. Sick Mam-ma-yat-che-ung immured in a living tomb!; 14. Movements of the ship's company; 15. Commencement of a sledge-journey up Frobisher Bay; 16. Continue the journey up Frobisher Bay; 17. Innuit food; 18. Ebierbing and Tookoolito; 19. Revisit Victoria Bay; 20. The Innuit name; Appendices.

Product Details

  • publication date: 29/12/2011
  • ISBN13: 9781108041409
  • Format: Other Formats
  • Number Of Pages: 714
  • ID: 9781108041409
  • weight: 980
  • ISBN10: 110804140X

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly