Listen with the Heart: Sacred Moments in Everyday Life

Listen with the Heart: Sacred Moments in Everyday Life

By: Sister Joan Chittister (author)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks


Known as one of the most challenging and charismatic leaders in Christianity, Joan Chittister is a Benedictine sister with an ecumenical outreach and vision. Listen with the Heart is her insightful, personal call to reach beyond the immediacy of a moment in everyday life and savor the sacred rituals that underlie it. This volume encompasses such rituals as Blessing, Fasting, Prayer, Community, Music, and Waiting - Sr. Joan makes the ordinary gleam with light and meaning. Each of the 12 chapters begins with an introduction on that topic, followed by a collection of meditations. Listen with the Heart is an inspiring invitation to stretch the soul and understand the messages of rituals that are common to monasticism and, in many ways, to us all.

About Author

Joan D. Chittister, O.S.B., is a Benedictine sister, best-selling author, and a well-known international speaker. A theologian, social psychologist, and communication theorist, she has written more than 20 books, taught on all education levels, received nine honorary doctorates, and is an active member of the International Peace Council. A leader in worker's justice, international peace initiatives, women's movements for equality, Sr. Joan is founder and Executive Director of Benetvision: A Resource and Research Center for Contemporary Spirituality, past president of the Conference of American Women Religious, and in 2007, she was awarded the Outstanding Leadership Award from The Leadership Conference of Women Religious. She lives in Erie, PA, in a Benedictine community.


Chapter 1 Blessing: Numbers 6:24 Chapter 2 Light: Ephesians 5:8 Chapter 3 Fasting: Joel 2:12 Chapter 4 Prayer: Psalm 51:15 Chapter 5 Naming: Isaiah 43:1 Chapter 6 Ordinary Time: Psalm 145:2 Chapter 7 Community: Romans 12:5 Chapter 8 Rituals: Psalm 95:6 Chapter 9 Music: Psalm 150:3-6 Chapter 10 Table Fellowship: Wisdom 16:20 Chapter 11 The Mystery of Death: Psalm 23:4 Chapter 12 Waiting: Isaiah 9:1

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781580511391
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 136
  • ID: 9781580511391
  • weight: 181
  • ISBN10: 1580511392

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly