Little Town on the Prairie (The Little House on the Prairie 6)

Little Town on the Prairie (The Little House on the Prairie 6)

By: Laura Ingalls Wilder (author)Paperback

In Stock

£5.24 RRP £6.99  You save £1.75 (25%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £25


Classic tales by Laura Ingalls Wilder about life on the frontier and America's best-loved pioneer family. Laura Ingalls is hoping to gain her teaching certificate and is determined to study hard at school. The school exhibition gives Laura the perfect chance to impress and as she approaches her sixteenth birthday, she hopes to get a job teaching at a nearby settlement. But Nellie Oleson, Laura's arch rival will do anything to make things difficult for her ...The timeless stories that inspired a TV series can now be read by a new generation of children. Readers who loved Anne of Green Gables, Little Women, and Heidi will be swept up by this timeless rural coming of age saga. Perfect escapism for readers aged 8+. Beautifully illustrated by Garth Williams. Have you collected all the Little House books? Little House in the Big Woods; Little House on the Prairie; On the Banks of Plum Creek; By the Shores of Silver Lake; The Long Winter; Little Town on the Prairie; These Happy Golden Years. Laura Ingalls Wilder was born in Wisconsin in 1867. She recorded her adventurous nomadic childhood with her pioneer family in a collection of books that have become beloved classics of American literature. The Little House on the Prairie television series ran for 9 seasons from 1974-1983.

Create a review

About Author

Laura Ingalls Wilder was born in Wisconsin in 1867. Her family moved around, travelling from Missouri to Kansas, Minnesota and back to Wisconsin. Eventually the family settled in De Smet, Dakota Territory and Laura worked regularly as a seamstress and teacher. She stopped working when she married Almanzo Wilder in 1885. Little House in the Big Woods was first published in 1932, Little House on the Prairie in 1935, and five more books in the Little House series followed. Laura also wrote Farmer Boy about her husband's childhood, and three more books were published posthumously. Laura was five times the recipient of the Newbery Honor Award for her distinguished contribution to American literature for children: On the Banks of Plum Creek (1938), By the Shores of Silver Lake (1940), The Long Winter (1941), Little Town on the Prairie (1942), These Happy Golden Years (1944). The books are charmingly illustrated with Garth Williams' black and white drawings from the 1953 editions.

Product Details

  • publication date: 27/08/2015
  • ISBN13: 9781405280167
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 304
  • ID: 9781405280167
  • weight: 247
  • ISBN10: 1405280166

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly