Little Warrior (Main)

Little Warrior (Main)

By: Giuseppe Catozzella (author), Anne Milano Appel (translator)Paperback

In Stock

£9.09 RRP £12.99  You save £3.90 (30%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £25


A heartbreaking novel, inspired by a true story, about a Somali girl who is willing to sacrifice everything to fulfill her dream of becoming a champion runner. Little Warrior is based on the life of Samia Omar, a girl who grows up in war-torn Somalia determined to be a world-class sprinter. She sleeps with a photo of Mo Farah by her bed, trains hard despite the violence and prejudice around her, and makes the national team. But with the war encroaching on their family, her sister is forced to make the treacherous journey to Europe by boat. Samia, scared for her life and for her dreams, decides to join her, which means putting her life in the hands of traffickers...Winner of the Premio Strega Giovani Prize in Italy and sold in over a dozen languages around the world, Little Warrior is a timely, inspiring and moving story about war, family and hope, for readers of The Kite Runner, Persepolis and The Other Hand. Translated by Anne Milano Appel.

Create a review

About Author

Giuseppe Catozzella was born in 1976 in Milan, and returned there after living for some time in Australia. He has published a book of poetry, La scimmia scrive (Cepollaro Edizioni, 2007), and two non-fiction novels Espianti(Transeuropea, 2008) and Alveare (Rizzoli, 2011); film rights in the latter have been optioned by Wildside and a theatrical adaptation is being made with the participation of Paolo Rossi. LITTLE WARRIOR won the Premio Strega Giovani 2014, was shortlisted for the Premio Strega 2014, and is being published in over a dozen languages.

Product Details

  • publication date: 07/04/2016
  • ISBN13: 9780571322688
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 256
  • ID: 9780571322688
  • weight: 287
  • ISBN10: 0571322689
  • edition: Main

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly