Logic of Sense (Bloomsbury Revelations)

Logic of Sense (Bloomsbury Revelations)

By: Gilles Deleuze (author), Constantin V. Boundas (translator), Mark Lester (translator), Charles J. Stivale (translator)Paperback

In Stock

£14.71 RRP £15.99  You save £1.28 (8%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20


Logic of Sense is one of Deleuze's seminal works. First published in 1969, shortly after Difference and Repetition, it prefigures the hybrid style and methods he would use in his later writing with Felix Guattari. In an early review Michel Foucault wrote that Logic of Sense 'should be read as the boldest and most insolent of metaphysical treatises'. The book is divided into 34 'series' and five appendices covering a diverse range of topics including, sense, nonsense, event, sexuality, psychoanalysis, paradoxes, schizophrenia, literature and becoming and includes fascinating close textual readings of works by Lewis Carroll, Sigmund Freud, Seneca, Pierre Klossowski, F. Scott Fitzgerald, and Emile Zola. Logic of Sense is essential reading for anyone interested in post-war continental thought.

Create a review

About Author

Gilles Deleuze (1925-1995) was one of the key figures in poststructuralism, and one of the most influential philosophers of the 20th century. His major works include, with Felix Guattari, A Thousand Plateaus and Anti-Oedipus, also published in the Bloomsbury Revelations series.


Preface: From Lewis Carroll to the Stoics First Series of Paradoxes of Pure Becoming Second Series of Paradoxes of Surface Effects Third Series of the Proposition Fourth Series of Dualities Fifth Series of Sense Sixth Series on Serialization Seventh Series of Esoteric Words Eighth Series of Structure Ninth Series of the Problematic Tenth Series of the Ideal Game Eleventh Series of Nonsense Twelfth Series of the Paradox Thirteenth Series of the Schizophrenic and the Little Girl Fourteenth Series of Double Causality Fifteenth Series of Singularities Sixteenth Series of the Static Ontological Genesis Seventeenth Series of the Static Logical Genesis Eighteenth Series of the Three Images of Philosophers Nineteenth Series of Humor Twentieth Series on the Moral Problem in Stoic Philosophy Twenty-First Series of the Event Twenty-Second Series-Porcelain and Volcano Twenty-Third Series of the Aion Twenty-Fourth Series of the Communication of Events Twenty-Fifth Series of Univocity Twenty-Sixth Series of Language Twenty-Seventh Series of Orality Twenty-Eighth Series of Sexuality Twenty-Ninth Series-Good Intentions Are Inevitably Punished Thirtieth Series of the Phantasm Thirty-First Series of Thought Thirty-Second Series on the Different Kinds of Series Thirty-Third Series of Alice's Adventures Thirty-Fourth Series of Primary Order and Secondary Organization Appendixes I. The Simulacrum and Ancient Philosophy 1. Plato and the Simulacrum 2. Lucretius and the Simulacrum II. Phantasm and Modern Literature 3. Klossowski or Bodies-Language 4. Michel Tournier and the World Without Others 5. Zola and the Crack-Up Index

Product Details

  • publication date: 22/10/2015
  • ISBN13: 9781474234887
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 376
  • ID: 9781474234887
  • weight: 547
  • ISBN10: 1474234887

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly