Love, Africa: A Memoir of Romance, War, and Survival

Love, Africa: A Memoir of Romance, War, and Survival

By: Jeffrey Gettleman (author)Paperback

In Stock

£7.91 RRP £10.99  You save £3.08 (28%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20

Description

From Jeffrey Gettleman, a Pulitzer Prize-winning New York Times journalist, comes a passionate, revealing story about finding love and finding a calling, set against one of the most turbulent regions in the world. A seasoned war correspondent, Jeffrey Gettleman has covered every major conflict over the past twenty years, from Afghanistan to Iraq to the Congo. For the past decade, he has served as the East Africa bureau chief for the New York Times, fulfilling a teenage dream. At nineteen, Gettleman fell in love, twice. On a do-it-yourself community service trip in college, he went to East Africa-a terrifying, exciting, dreamlike part of the world in the throes of change that imprinted itself on his imagination and on his heart. But around that same time he also fell in love with a fellow Cornell student-the brightest, classiest, most principled woman he'd ever met. To say they were opposites was an understatement. She became a criminal lawyer in America; he hungered to return to Africa. For the next decade he would be torn between these two abiding passions. A sensually rendered coming-of-age story in the tradition of Barbarian Days, Love, Africa is a tale of passion, violence, far-flung adventure, tortuous long-distance relationships, screwing up, forgiveness, parenthood, and happiness that explores the power of finding yourself in the most unexpected of places.

About Author

Jeffrey Gettleman won a Pulitzer Prize for his reporting from East Africa. He was the longest-serving East Africa bureau chief in the history of the New York Times, based in Kenya for more than a decade. His stories have appeared in National Geographic, Foreign Policy, GQ, and the New York Review of Books. A native of Evanston, Illinois, Gettleman studied philosophy at Cornell University and anthropology at the University of Oxford, where he was a Marshall Scholar.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780062284105
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 368
  • ID: 9780062284105
  • weight: 282
  • ISBN10: 006228410X

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly

Close