Magnificat (Vocal score)

Magnificat (Vocal score)

By: Ralph Vaughan Williams (composer)Other Formats

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks


for contralto (mezzo-soprano) solo, female chorus, and flute and piano (or orchestra) This is an unusual setting of the well-known text. After an ethereal opening, a contralto/mezzo-soprano soloist sings the Magnificat text while the female chorus interpolates with other texts in praise of the Virgin Mary. The rhapsodic lines of the soloist contrast with the more reflective tone of the chorus, while a prominent solo flute part evokes the otherworldly in a manner reminiscent of Debussy. This setting is not for liturgical use. This version is accompanied by solo flute and piano. Orchestral material is available on hire.

About Author

Vaughan Williams has come to be regarded as one of the finest British composers of the 20th century. He has a particularly wide-ranging catalogue of works, including choral works, symphonies, concerti, and opera. His searching and visionary imagination, combined with a flexibility in writing for all levels of music-making, has meant that his music is as popular today as it ever has been.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780193391543
  • Format: Other Formats
  • Number Of Pages: 24
  • ID: 9780193391543
  • weight: 54
  • ISBN10: 0193391546
  • edition: Vocal score

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly