Mark Twain and the Colonel: Samuel L. Clemens, Theodore Roosevelt, and the Arrival of a New Century

Mark Twain and the Colonel: Samuel L. Clemens, Theodore Roosevelt, and the Arrival of a New Century

By: Philip McFarland (author)Hardback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks


In Mark Twain and the Colonel, Philip McFarland tells the story of the rich years of American history between 1890 and 1910 through the fully engaged involvement of two of its most vital participants. The narrative unfolds in six sections, each focusing on a different aspect of the United States of the early twentieth century that continues to matter to this day: America as an imperialist nation, America as a continental nation, America as a racial nation, America as a corporate nation, America at home, and America striving for peace. In this short span of years, the America of the late nineteenth century will move substantially closer to the America we know today, thanks in part to the influence and actions of Mark Twain and Theodore Roosevelt, two of the most influential figures of the age.

About Author

Philip McFarland is the author of five earlier works of nonfiction: Sojourners, Sea Dangers: The Affair of the Somers, The Brave Bostonians: Hutchinson, Quincy, Franklin, and the Coming of the American Revolution, Hawthorne in Concord, and Loves of Harriet Beecher Stowe. He has also published two works of fiction.


Part I: War Chapter 1: Return to America Chapter 2: Celebrity Chapter 3: Vice-Presidential Candidate Chapter 4: Warfare Chapter 5: Imperialist America Chapter 6: Anti-Imperialist Chapter 7: Election Results Chapter 8: The Strenuous Life Part II: West Chapter 9: Rural Upbringing Chapter 10: Urban Upbringing Chapter 11: Clemens Goes West Chapter 12: Grand Tours Chapter 13: Western Writings Chapter 14: Continental America Chapter 15: The Philippines Chapter 16: Pan-American Exposition Part III: Race Chapter 17: Yale Bicentennial Chapter 18: Racial America Chapter 19: Back to Hannibal Chapter 20: Roosevelt and Race Chapter 21: Livy Chapter 22: Huckleberry Finn Chapter 23: Roosevelt and the Philippines Chapter 24: Placating the South Part IV: Oil Chapter 25: The Kanawha Chapter 26: Corporate America Chapter 27: Roosevelt as Reformer Chapter 28: The Gilded Age Chapter 29: Bankruptcy Chapter 30: In the White House Chapter 31: Trustbusting Chapter 32: Our Life Is Wrecked Part V: Children Chapter 33: A Seventieth Birthday Chapter 34: Susy Chapter 35: America at Home Chapter 36: Bully Father Chapter 37: President in His Own Right Chapter 38: Global Visions Chapter 39: Bereft and Adrift Chapter 40: Young People Part VI: Peace Chapter 41: Carnegie Chapter 42: America at Peace Chapter 43: Late Pleasures Chapter 44: TR Steps Down Chapter 45: Jean Chapter 46: Funerals Chapter 47: Bull Moose Chapter 48: Afterward Chronology

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781442212268
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 520
  • ID: 9781442212268
  • weight: 817
  • ISBN10: 1442212268

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly