Markheim, Jekyll And The Merry Men: Shorter Scottish Fiction (Main)

Markheim, Jekyll And The Merry Men: Shorter Scottish Fiction (Main)

By: Robert Louis Stevenson (author), Roderick Watson (contributor)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

£9.20 RRP £10.00  You save £0.80 (8%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20


Ever since its first appearance in 1886, Robert Louis Stevenson's Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde has proved itself to be a tale of undiminished power for readers all over the world. It remains one of the great masterpieces of psychological fiction and yet it is not alone in Stevenson's work, for he had explored similar themes in several other stories too, all inextricably linked with his native country. This collection makes a strong case for the essentially Scottish origins of Stevenson's best short fiction, derived as it is from Calvinism's feeling for the immanence of evil, and driven by a sense of man's darker, divided self which goes back to Hogg's Justified Sinner. Thus it is that the story of the respectable Dr Jekyll, even in a London setting, has links that stretch back to the narrow wynds of Edinburgh and the bleak moors and shores of the North. In this company stories of possession, doubleness and terror such as 'The Merry Men', 'The Body Snatcher', 'Markheim', 'Thrawn Janet' and others, reveal more clearly than ever their Scottish roots, and that fascination with the uncanny which brought the creator of Mr Hyde screamingly awake one winter's night over a hundred years ago.

About Author

Robert Louis Stevenson (1850-94) was a Scottish novelist, poet and essayist who achieved worldwide acclaim for Treasure Island and The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. Born and educated in Edinburgh, Stevenson began with essays, short stories and travel writing, most notably Travels with a Donkey in the Cevennes (1879). He is best remembered for his first novel Treasure Island (1883) and for The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde (1886). The great Scottish novels followed, with Kidnapped (1886), The Master of Ballantrae (1889), and Weir of Hermiston (1893), which was left unfinished at his death. Catriona (1893), was always planned as the immediate sequel to Kidnapped, but had been delayed in the writing. Stevenson spent seven years in the South Seas, settling for the last five on the island of Upolu in Samoa, where he died suddenly from a cerebral stroke at the age of forty-four.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780862415556
  • Format: Paperback, Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 320
  • ID: 9780862415556
  • weight: 260
  • ISBN10: 0862415551
  • edition: Main

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly