Modern Britain since 1979: A Reader (Tauris History Readers)

Modern Britain since 1979: A Reader (Tauris History Readers)

By: Christine F. Collette (editor), Keith Laybourn (editor)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

£18.04 RRP £18.99  You save £0.95 (5%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20


Readers are essential tools for students, where vital extracts from key source materials, carefully chosen by historians in daily contact with student needs and course requirements, are pared to essentials, explained and placed into context. The introductions and explanatory materials are vital in giving the latest and state of the art' historiography, and providing ideas and summaries - so important for essay writing and examinations. Readers are therefore in wide use in universities in the both Britain and North America as combining the old strengths of individual detailed study guided by specialists with access to original materials, often scarce in contemporary colleges. Keith Laybourn and Christine Collette, established authors with extensive experience of teaching and modern student needs, have put together a carefully selected collection of materials culled from primary and secondary sources and covering the major themes of British history from Margaret Thatcher to Tony Blair and ranging from Thatcherism'; the Welfare State,rolling back' and Blairite Third Way'; the attack on trade unionism; the fall of Old' and the rise of New' Labour; The Social Democratic Party, Liberals and Liberal Democrats; rise of nationalist parties in Scotland and Wales and develotion; the European debate; Eurocommunism and the end of the Cold war and collapse of the Communist Party; the feminist and gender debate and position of women in British society; immigration and racial equality; Ireland; Conclusion; Bibliograpical essay.

About Author

Keith Laybourn is Professor of History at the University of Huddersfield and Christine Collete is Reader in History and Women's Studies at Edge Hill University College.


Preface and Acknowledgements vii List of Abbreviations xi Introduction 1 Chapter 1 Thatcher, Thatcher's Britain and Thatcherism: Government and Conservative Politics, 1979-2002 5 Chapter 2 The Welfare State, 1979-2002 28 Chapter 3 The Attack upon Trade Unionism, 1979-2002 68 Chapter 4 The Fall of the 'Old' and the Rise of 'New' Labour 91 Chapter 5 The Social Democratic Party, the Liberals and the Liberal Democrats 122 Chapter 6 The Rise of Nationalism in Scotland and Wales 144 Chapter 7 Eurocommunism, the End of the Cold War and the Collapse of the Communist Party of Great Britain 183 Chapter 8 Feminist Debates and the Changing Position of Women in British Society 208 Chapter 9 Ethnicity and Racial Equality 245 Chapter 10 Northern Ireland 287 Bibliography 312 Index 316

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781860645976
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 272
  • ID: 9781860645976
  • ISBN10: 1860645976

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly