More Time Pieces for Cello, Volume 1: Music through the Ages (Time Pieces (ABRSM))

More Time Pieces for Cello, Volume 1: Music through the Ages (Time Pieces (ABRSM))

By: Tim M. Wells (editor), William Bruce (editor)Other Formats

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

£8.00 RRP £8.25  You save £0.25 (3%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20


Time Pieces is an exciting new series of repertoire which explores the wealth of music written from the sixteenth century to the present day. The pieces are presented chronologically within each volume and all include the year in which they were written too so you can map your journey through time. Time Pieces for Cello is a three-volume anthology providing a graded selection of well-crafted and idiomatic arrangements, as well as some original pieces, for cello and piano. All of them have been carefully written to provide practice of the keys, note ranges and fingering patterns encountered in the early grades, and there are suggestions for position work and varied bowing patterns. Each volume balances well-known pieces with less familiar music, and the emphasis throughout is on tuneful repertoire perfectly suited to the cello with a simple supportive piano accompaniment. From Tallis to Tchaikovsky and from Haydn to Britten, Time Pieces for Cello allows the pupil to get a real feel for the different styles of music through time and will prove an invaluable, varied source of further study and recital repertoire.


Vltava, from Ma Vlast [Smetana] ; Banaha [Trad.] ; Taivas on sininen ja valkoinen [Trad.] ; Come again, sweet love doth now invite [John Dowland] ; Sellinger's Round [William Byrd] ; Air [John Blow] ; Sarabande l'1 [F Couperin] ; Air from the Peasant Cantata [J. S. Bach] ; Moderato from Trio Sonata No. 1 [Domenico Gallo] ; Poco adagio from String Quartet Op. 76 No. 3 [Joseph Haydn] ; Bella siccome un angelo from Don Pasquale [Donizetti] ; Berceuse from Dolly, Op. 56 [Faure] ; Rococo Theme (from Op. 33) [Tchaikovsky] ; Slavonic Dance Op. 46 No. 8 [Dvorak] ; Funiculi, funicula [Luigi Denza] ; Gavotte from The Holberg Suite [Edvard Grieg] ; The Peanut Vendor [Moises Simons] ; The Pink Panther [Mancini] ; I wish I knew (how it would feel to be free) [Billy Taylor] ; Happy Places [Tim M Wells]

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781848491625
  • Format: Other Formats
  • Number Of Pages: 52
  • ID: 9781848491625
  • weight: 192
  • ISBN10: 184849162X

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly