Motown: The Sound of Young America

Motown: The Sound of Young America

By: Adam White (author), Barney Ales (author)Hardback

Special OrderSpecial Order item not currently available. We'll try and order for you.


Motown: The Sound of Young America is the definitive, authorised visual history of the Detroit-based independent record company which became a style unto itself, a prolific and hugely successful production line of suave, sassy and sophisticated music through the sixties, seventies and eighties. Featuring extensive, specially commissioned photography of treasures gathered from the archives, this landmark publication also captures the graphic and design iconography which underpinned Motown's extraordinary creativity. Packed with fresh insights gleaned from scores of interviews with key players, this exceptional, revealing book delves into the workings of the Motown machine and details how a dedicated team of backroom believers, white and black, turned a small family business into a popular music powerhouse. This was the home of Stevie Wonder, Smokey Robinson & the Miracles, Diana Ross & the Supremes, Marvin Gaye, the Jackson 5, the Temptations and many more. Motown: The Sound of Young America is a spectacular labour of love befitting an incredible story.

About Author

Adam White has written about music and the music industry for more than forty years. He scripted a US radio documentary, `The Motown Story', which was Grammy-nominated in 1983, was editor-in-chief at Billboard, and co-authored The Billboard Book of No. 1 R&B Hits. He was vice-president of communications at Universal Music Group International from 2002 to 2012. Barney Ales was Berry Gordy's indispensable right-hand man and the company's ultimate insider. Ales rose to become executive VP, but stayed in Detroit in 1972, when Gordy moved Motown to California. Three years later, Ales rejoined the company, and he served as its president from 1975 to 1978.


Foreword by Andrew Loog Oldham * Infographic: Motown At A Glance * Prelude: The Fire This Time * In the Beginning * We Don't Serve Colored People * L'Amour Fou & A Sore Thumb * Meet The Supremes * Ready, Steady, Go! * Nowhere to Run * Fill Your Head with Dirt * Sun Country * Three Floors & No Roots * The Last Star * Epilogue * Picture Credits * Index

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780500518298
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 400
  • ID: 9780500518298
  • weight: 2250
  • ISBN10: 0500518297

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly