Music of Many Means: Sketches and Essays on the Music of Robert Erickson (Composers of North America 17)

Music of Many Means: Sketches and Essays on the Music of Robert Erickson (Composers of North America 17)

By: Robert Erickson (author), John Mackay (author), John Beckwith (volume_editor)Hardback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks


Music of Many Means introduces musicians, scholars, and listeners to composer Robert Erickson's artistic journey. His reluctance to court national and international recognition kept him out of the contemporary music spotlight, but his best known works include Kryl for solo trumpet, General Speech, and The Idea of Order at Key West. This book combines autobiographical sketches by Erickson and essays by John MacKay that provide the reader with insights into Erickson's creative process along with an objective, analytical discussion of his works. It includes lists of compositions, a bibliography, a discography, and musical examples scattered throughout the text. Music of Many Means will provide scholars with avenues for further research and listeners with a deeper appreciation of Erickson's music.

About Author

Robert Erickson is an eminent American composer and author who has taught at San Francisco State University, UC-Berkeley, and the San Francisco Conservatory and co-founded the Department of Music at the University of California, San Diego. John MacKay is a visiting professor at the SecD,cD~ao AutD'onoma de ComunicaD,cioe Arte of the Universidade de Aveiro in Portugal.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780810830141
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 502
  • ID: 9780810830141
  • weight: 712
  • ISBN10: 0810830140

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly