Narrative Voice in Russ Meyer's Films: A Cacophony of Carnality

Narrative Voice in Russ Meyer's Films: A Cacophony of Carnality

By: Michael Sevastakis (author)Hardback

Special OrderSpecial Order item not currently available. We'll try and order for you.


Deals with an analysis of 13 of Russ Meyer's major films produced between 1959 (The Immoral Mr Teas) and 1979 (Beneath The Valley of the Ultra Vixens). This work proceeds to a discussion on film as a form of narration, and then to describing the three basic voices controlling the stories.

About Author

Dr. Sevastakis is Professor in the Communications Department at The College of Mount Saint Vincent in Riverdale, New York.


Foreword; 1. Introduction to the Life and Times of Russ Meyer; 2. Supervixens (1975); 3. The Immoral Mr. Teas (1959); 4. Lorna (1964); 5. Mudhoney (1965); 6. Faster, Pussycat! Kill! Kill! (1966); 7. Common Law Cabin (1967); 8. Good morning and goodbye! (1967); 9. Finders keepers, lovers weepers! (1968); 10. Vixens (1968); 11. Cherry, Harry & Raquel (1969); 12. Beyond the Valley of the Dolls (1970); 13. Up! (1976); 14. Beneath the Valley of the Ultravixens (1979); 15. Conclusion.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780773458574
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 452
  • ID: 9780773458574
  • ISBN10: 0773458573

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly