Nathaniel Shilkret: Sixty Years in the Music Business

Nathaniel Shilkret: Sixty Years in the Music Business

By: Niel Shell (editor), Barbara Shilkret (editor), Nathaniel Shilkret (editor)Mixed Media

Special OrderSpecial Order item not currently available. We'll try and order for you.


In these autobiographical writings, one of the twentieth century's most influential musicians describes his own life and relates anecdotes of his dealings with such notable figures as George Gershwin, Benny Goodman, Artie Shaw, and Fats Waller. Shilkret's writing also discloses an insider's view of the 1930's radio broadcasting scene and the burgeoning corporations that sponsored it. Appendixes list Shilkret compositions, tracks of commercially-available Shilkret recordings, motion pictures in whose production Shilkret was involved, and more. An extensive discography, bibliography, and index make the work useful to researchers and historians. A selected sample of never-before commercially-available recordings by Nathaniel Silkret and the Symphonic Pops is included on the audio CD packaged with the book.

About Author

Nathaniel Shilkret (1889-1982) was a clarinetist, pianist, conductor, composer, RCA Victor executive, and musical director of RKO and MGM studios. Barbara Shilkret became the owner of the Nathaniel Shilkret Music Company at the death of Arthur Shilkret in 1982. Niel Shell is an author and Professor of Mathematics at the City College of the City University of New York.


Part 1 Foreword Part 2 Introduction Chapter 3 1 A Child Prodigy Chapter 4 2 Teenage to Marriage Chapter 5 3 The Victor Talking Machine Company Chapter 6 4 Radio and Recording Chapter 7 5 Sound Movies and RCA Chapter 8 6 Motion Pictures Chapter 9 7 Return to New York Chapter 10 8 MGM and RKO-Pathe Chapter 11 9 The Skinner Tour Chapter 12 10 Conclusion Part 13 Appendix A: Compositions and Arrangements Part 14 Appendix B: Selective Record Discography Part 15 Appendix C: CD Discrography Part 16 Appendix D: Radio Broadcasts Part 17 Appendix E: Filmography Part 18 Appendix F: Noted Personalities Part 19 Appendix G: Genealogy Part 20 Appendix H: Chronology Part 21 Bibliography Part 22 Abbreviations Used in Index Part 23 Index Part 24 About the Author and Editors Part 25 CD Track Listing

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780810851283
  • Format: Mixed Media
  • Number Of Pages: 352
  • ID: 9780810851283
  • weight: 644
  • ISBN10: 0810851288

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly