Norman Corwin's One World Flight: The Lost Journal of Radio's Greatest Writer

Norman Corwin's One World Flight: The Lost Journal of Radio's Greatest Writer

By: Michael C. Keith (editor), Mary Ann Watson (editor)Hardback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks


Norman Corwin has long been known as 'Radio's Poet Laureate'. During Corwin's travels to 17 countries in 1946, he kept a journal of his personal thoughts and observations. It was put in a drawer where it remained for decades. More than sixty years after the trip, media historian Michael Keith asked Corwin - who is now in his nineties - if he had kept a log or journal of his One World travels. He had, and his analysis of international communications still rings true today.

About Author

Michael C. Keith is a member of the Communications Department at Boston College. He is the author of over 20 books on the electronic media, including Talking Radio, Voices in the Purple Haze, Signals in the Air, Sounds in the Dark, the classic textbook The Radio Station, and a critically acclaimed memoir The Next Better Place. Keith is the recipient of several awards, including the Stanton Fellow Award. Mary Ann Watson is a professor of Electronic Media & Film Studies at Eastern Michigan University. She earned her Ph.D. in Communications at The University of Michigan in 1983. Watson is the author of The Expanding Vista: American Television in the Kennedy Years, published by Oxford University Press in 1990, which has become a widely referenced work in the literature of media history. She is also the author of Defining Visions: Television and the American Experience in the 20th Century, 2nd edition, published by Wiley-Blackwell, 2008.


Foreword - Norman Lear; Introduction - by the co-editors, laying the groundwork on Corwin's career and the Wilkie Award; (ch 1-12 are from Corwin's journal - in its entirety); Chapter 1: One Way Ticket: NY to NY; Chapter 2: Banks of the Channel (England and France); Chapter 3: Peace in the North (Denmark, Norway, Sweden); Chapter 4: Ruined City (Warsaw); Chapter 5: "Why War?" (The Soviet Union); Chapter 6: Land of Coalition (Czechoslovakia); Chapter 7: Friends, Romans, Egyptians (Italy and Egypt); Chapter 8: Nehru and Others (India); Chapter 9: Under Heaven, Broken Family (China); Chapter 10: Big Archipelagos (Japan and the Philippines); Chapter 11: Reverse Spring (Australia); Chapter 12: Operation Antipodes (New Zealand); Chapter 13: Postscript to One World; Notes; Index.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780826434111
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 232
  • ID: 9780826434111
  • weight: 499
  • ISBN10: 0826434118

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly