Philip Roth's Rude Truth: The Art of Immaturity

Philip Roth's Rude Truth: The Art of Immaturity

By: Ross Posnock (author)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

Description

Has anyone ever worked harder and longer at being immature than Philip Roth? The novelist himself pointed out the paradox, saying that after establishing a reputation for maturity with two earnest novels, he "worked hard and long and diligently" to be frivolous--an effort that resulted in the notoriously immature Portnoy's Complaint (1969). Three-and-a-half decades and more than twenty books later, Roth is still at his serious "pursuit of the unserious." But his art of immaturity has itself matured, developing surprising links with two traditions of immaturity--an American one that includes Emerson, Melville, and Henry James, and a late twentieth-century Eastern European one that developed in reaction to totalitarianism. In Philip Roth's Rude Truth--one of the first major studies of Roth's career as a whole--Ross Posnock examines Roth's "mature immaturity" in all its depth and richness. Philip Roth's Rude Truth will force readers to reconsider the narrow categories into which Roth has often been slotted--laureate of Newark, New Jersey; junior partner in the firm Salinger, Bellow, Mailer, and Malamud; Jewish-American regionalist. In dramatic contrast to these caricatures, the Roth who emerges from Posnock's readable and intellectually vibrant study is a great cosmopolitan in the tradition of Henry James and Milan Kundera.

About Author

Ross Posnock is Professor of English at Columbia University, where he also teaches American Studies. His books include "The Trial of Curiosity: Henry James, William James, and the Challenge of Modernity; Color and Culture: Black Writers and the Making of the Modern Intellectual;" and "The Cambridge Companion to Ralph Ellison".

Contents

Preface xi Acknowledgments xix List of Abbreviations xxi Chapter 1: Introduction: Roth Antagonistes 1 Chapter 2: Immaturity: A Genealogy 39 Chapter 3: Ancestors and Relatives: The Game of Appropriation and the Sacrifice of Assimilation 88 Chapter 4: "A very slippery subject": The Counterlife as Pivot 125 Chapter 5: Letting Go, or How to Lead a Stupid Life: Sabbath's Nakedness 155 Chapter 6: Being Game in The Human Stain 193 Chapter 7: The Two Philips 236 Coda: "The stars are indispensable" 260 Notes 267 Works Cited 287 Index 295

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780691138435
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 328
  • ID: 9780691138435
  • weight: 454
  • ISBN10: 0691138435
  • translations: English
  • language of text: English

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly

Close