Philosophy of Modern Music (Bloomsbury Revelations)

Philosophy of Modern Music (Bloomsbury Revelations)

By: Theodor W. Adorno (author)Paperback

In Stock

£14.71 RRP £15.99  You save £1.28 (8%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20


In this classic work of music theory Adorno critiques two major composers, Arnold Schoenberg and Igor Stravinsky, who he presents as dialectically opposed to one another in terms of their musical styles, techniques and directions. Adorno's readings, especially of Schoenberg, continue to cause controversy and disagreement among musicians, music lovers and philosophers today. As always with Adorno, a wide range of social cultural, philosophical and political questions are raised in the process of his critique making the reader see the form and function of music in startling new ways. The book also covers other renowned composers including Wagner, Bach and Mozart. This is landmark work of philosophy that has shaped the way we think about music today.

About Author

Theodor W. Adorno (1903-1969) was a founder and arguably the foremost thinker of the Frankfurt School. He worked with Max Horkheimer at the New York Institute for Social Research, USA, and later taught at the University of Frankfurt, Germany, until his death in 1969.


Translators' Introduction Preface Introduction Schoenberg and Progress Stravinsky and Restoration Note to the third edition Notes Index

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781474288866
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 200
  • ID: 9781474288866
  • weight: 307
  • ISBN10: 1474288863

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly