Physicists of Ireland: Passion and Precision

Physicists of Ireland: Passion and Precision

By: Mark McCartney (editor), Andrew Whitaker (editor)Hardback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks


Demonstrating the strength of tradition in Ireland, Physicists of Ireland: Passion and Precision is a collection of essays on leading figures from the history of physics in Ireland. It includes physicists born outside of Ireland who carried out significant work in Ireland as well as those who had strong Irish roots but carried out their work outside of Ireland. The book is well illustrated with diagrams and photos of historical interest and rounded off with useful suggestions for further reading. It might come as a surprise to many that several leading English physicists are actually from Ireland.


William Petty 1623-1687, by Norman McMillan Robert Boyle 1627-1691, by Duncan Thorburn Burns William Molyneaux 1656-1698, by Patrick Wayman and Norman McMillan Nicholas Callan 1799-1864, by Niall McKeith William Parsons, Earl of Rosse 1800-1867, by Bob Strunz Humphrey Lloyd 1800-1881, by James O'Hara Thomas Grubb 1800-1878 and Howard Grubb 1844-1931by Andrew Whitaker William Hamilton 1805-1865, by E F Robertson and J J O'Connor James MacCullagh 1809-1847, by James O'Hara Thomas Andrews 1813-1885, by Duncan Thorburn Burns George Stokes 1819-1903, by Alastair Wood John Tyndall 1820-1893, by Norman McMillan Sam Haughton 1821-1897, by Norman McMillan William Thompson, Lord Kelvin 1824-1907, by Mark McCartney George Stoney 1826-1911, by James O'Hara George Fitzgerald 1851-1901, by E F Robertson and J J O'Connor James Joly 1857-1903, by Dennis Weaire and Stephen Coonan Joseph Larmor 1857-1942, by Raymond Flood Frederick Trouton 1863-1922, by James O'Hara John Townsend 1868-1957, by Mark McCartney John McClelland 1870-1920, by Tom O'Connor Erwin Schroedinger 1887-1961, by Andrew Whitaker Cornelius Lanczos 1893-1974, by Barbara Gellai John Synge 1897-1995, by Petros Florides Desmond Bernal 1901-1971, by Roy Johnston Ernest Walton 1903-1995, by Brian Cathcart Walther Heitler 1904-1981, by David Glass William McCrea 1904-1999 by Ivan Williams Cormac O Ceallaigh 1912-1996, by Mark McCartney David Bates 1918-1994, by Ray Flannery John Bell 1928-1990, by Andrew Whitaker Lochlain O Raifeartaigh 1933-2000, by Siddartha Sen Index

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780750308663
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 312
  • ID: 9780750308663
  • weight: 680
  • ISBN10: 0750308664

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly