Piano Concerto No.1

Piano Concerto No.1

By: Carl Vine (composer)Other Formats

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

£20.99 RRP £29.99  You save £9.00 (30%) With FREE Saver Delivery


Full score Carl Vine's Piano Concerto No. 1 (1997) is one of three large-scale works composed with pianist Michael Kieran Harvey in mind - the others being his first two piano sonatas. Its composer describes it as `a conscious and continuous tribute to the Piano Concerto as a medium and historical entity', a fact most apparent in the slow movement, with its long melodic lines evoking both Ravel and Bach. This 25-minute concerto is cast in the familiar three-movement form, with fast outer movements framing a central slow movement. The outer movements share some material (particularly in some lively conversational interchanges between piano and trumpet), and also some typically pianistic glitter across the orchestra, with harp and glockenspiel ensuring that the piano is less of an outsider than might have otherwise been the case.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780571572168
  • Format: Other Formats
  • Number Of Pages: 108
  • ID: 9780571572168
  • weight: 330
  • ISBN10: 0571572162

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly