Please, Nurse!: A Student Nurse in the 1950s

Please, Nurse!: A Student Nurse in the 1950s

By: Joan Lock (author)Paperback

1 - 2 weeks availability

Description

Joan Lock's warm and nostalgic account of her three years of training as a young student nurse in the early 1950s. Perfect for fans of CALL THE MIDWIFE. When Joan Lock began her formal training as a young nurse in the 1950s, she was unprepared for the strict discipline and long hours which were to follow and quickly realised she was no Florence Nightingale. Her honest and humorous account of the next three years reveals her most intimate experiences of being a nurse: from dealing with temperamental surgeons to fighting off flirtatious patients. Labelled a trouble-maker, Joan and her friends tested their strict Sisters' patience as they climbed through windows, slept through lectures and broke every thermometer that passed through their hands. But through it all, Joan found herself touched by the people she met and their heart-warming stories.

Create a review

About Author

Joan Lock has been a saleswoman, nurse, police officer, market-research interviewer, employment bureau interviewer, assistant librarian, advertising copywriter and airline clerk. She is now a successful novelist.

Product Details

  • publication date: 07/11/2013
  • ISBN13: 9781409128137
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 320
  • ID: 9781409128137
  • weight: 156
  • ISBN10: 140912813X

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly

Close