Politics: Books VII and VIII (Clarendon Aristotle Series)

Politics: Books VII and VIII (Clarendon Aristotle Series)

By: Aristotle (author), Richard Kraut (volume_editor)Paperback

4 - 6 days availability

£31.82 RRP £33.49  You save £1.67 (5%) With FREE Saver Delivery


The Clarendon Aristotle Series is designed for both students and professionals. It provides accurate translations of selected Aristotelian texts, accompanied by incisive commentaries which focus on philosophical problems and issues. This volume contains a clear and accurate translation of the last two books of Aristotle's Politics, together with a philosophical commentary. It is well suited to the requirements of students, including those who do not know Greek. The Politics is a key document in Western political thought; it raises and discusses many theoretical and practical political issues which are still debated today. In Books VII and VIII Aristotle gives his fullest picture of the ideal civic community, as a model for actual political systems. In such a community citizens share equally in political deliberation by drawing on a common conception of the good, and all are educated by the city to participate in its culture. Aristotle's discussion ranges over such issues as commerce, property, marriage, abortion, censorship, education, and the place of music and poetry in civic life.

Create a review

About Author

Richard Kraut is Professor of Philosophy at Northwestern University, Illinois. He was previously Professor of Philosophy at the University of Illinois, Chicago.



Product Details

  • publication date: 27/11/1997
  • ISBN13: 9780198751144
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 240
  • ID: 9780198751144
  • weight: 332
  • ISBN10: 0198751141

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly