Psychologists on Psychology (Classic Edition) (Psychology Press & Routledge Classic Editions)

Psychologists on Psychology (Classic Edition) (Psychology Press & Routledge Classic Editions)

By: David Cohen (author)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

£35.14 RRP £36.99  You save £1.85 (5%) With FREE Saver Delivery


This is a Classic Edition of David Cohen's unique collection of interviews with eminent psychologists, first published in 1977. The book presents conversations with thirteen of the world's great psychologists, who dominated the subject from 1950 to 1980, and who shaped psychology as we know it today. Those interviewed include Burrhus Skinner, Donald Broadbent, Hans Eysenck and also R.D Laing, Noam Chomsky, and Niko Tinbergen. This classic edition contains a newly written introduction which contextualises the interviews as a critique and diagnosis of the problems of contemporary psychology in the mid 1970's. Together, the interviews cover a broad range of approaches, and the lively debates about theory, practice and what it means to be human which were occurring at that time. The book shows the different approaches each psychologist has to the subject and why, in terms of background, education, experimental research and personal preference, they came to the positions they hold. The classic edition of Psychologists on Psychology provides an astute, critical snapshot of psychology at that time. It will be of great interest to anyone with an interest in psychology, the history of psychology, and the history of ideas.

About Author

David Cohen is a prolific writer and film-maker, and a fellow of the Royal Society of Medicine. He trained as a psychologist and set up Psychology News as a magazine which has since become a film and TV production company.


Introduction to the Classic Edition Original Introduction 1. David McClelland 2. Donald Broadbent 3. Noam Chomsky 4. H.J. Eysenck 5. Leon Festinger 6. Liam Hudson 7. Michel Jouvet 8. R.D. Laing 9. Leupold-Loewenthal 10. Neal Miller 11. Burrhus Skinner 12. Henri Tajfel 13. Niko Tinbergen 14. Tentative Conclusions

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781138808508
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 292
  • ID: 9781138808508
  • weight: 454
  • ISBN10: 1138808504

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly