Richard Strauss: New Perspectives on the Composer and His Work

Richard Strauss: New Perspectives on the Composer and His Work

By: Bryan Gilliam (editor)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

£20.57 RRP £20.99  You save £0.42 (2%) With FREE Saver Delivery


As we approach the fiftieth anniversary of Richard Stauss's death, scholarly interest in the composer continues to grow. Despite what was once a tendency by musicologists to overlook or deny Strauss's importance, these essays firmly place the German composer in the musical mainstream and situate him among the most influential composers of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Originally published in 1992, this volume examines Strauss's life and work from a number of approaches and during various periods of his long career, opening up unique corridors of insight into a crucial time in German history. Contributors discuss Strauss as a young composer steeped in a conservative instrumental tradition, as a brash young modernist tone poet of the 1890s, as an important composer of twentieth-century German opera, and as a cultural icon manipulated by the national socialists during the 1930s and early 1940s. Individual essays use Strauss's creative work as a framework for larger musicological questions such as the tension between narrative and structure in program music, the problem of extended tonality at the turn of the century, stylistic choice versus stylistic obligation, and conflicting perspectives of progressive versus conservative music. This collection will interest Strauss scholars, musicologists, and those interested in the artistic and cultural life of Germany from 1880 through the Second World War.Contributors. Kofi Agawu, Gunter Brosche, Bryan Gilliam, Stephen Hefling, James A. Hepokoski, Timothy L. Jackson, Michael Kennedy, Lewis Lockwood, Barbara A. Peterson, Pamela Potter, Reinhold Schloetterer, R. Larry Todd

About Author

Bryan Gilliam is Associate Professor and Director of the Graduate Program in Music at Duke University.


Preface to the Paperback Edition ix Introduction: The Warmer Climate for Strauss / Michael Kennedy xi Preface xix The Musical-Historical Context Strauss before Liszt and Wagner: Some Observations / R. Larry todd 3 Miners Digging from Opposite Sides: Mahler, Strauss, and the Problem of Program Music / Stephen E. Hefling 41 Extended Tonality in Mahler and Strauss / Kofi Agawu 55 Ironic Allusions to Italian Opera in the Musical Comedies of Richard Strauss / Reinhold chlotterer 77 Strauss and the National Socialists: The Debate and Its Relevance / Pamela M. Potter 93 Die Handler und die Kunst: Richard Strauss as Composers' Advocate / Barbara A. Petersen 115 The Musical Works Fiery-Pulsed Libertine or Domestic Hero? Strauss's Don Juan Reinvestigated / James Hepokoski 135 The Concerto for Oboe and Small Orchestra (1945): Remarks about the Origin of the Work Based on a Newly Discovered Source / Gunter Brosche 177 The Metamorphosis of the Metamorphoses: New Analytic and Source-Critical Discoveries / Timothy L. Jackson 193 The Element of Time in Der Rosenkavalier / Lewis Lockwood 243 Strauss's Intermezzo: Innovation and Tradition / Bryan Gilliam 259 Index 285

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780822321149
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 312
  • ID: 9780822321149
  • ISBN10: 0822321149

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly