Robertson Davies's Cornish Trilogy: A Reader's Guide (New edition)

Robertson Davies's Cornish Trilogy: A Reader's Guide (New edition)

By: Victor J. Lams (author)Hardback

Special OrderSpecial Order item not currently available. We'll try and order for you.


Robertson Davies's Cornish Trilogy: A Reader's Guide is the first book-length study of Davies's best work: The Rebel Angels, What's Bred in the Bone, and The Lyre of Orpheus. In The Rebel Angels, Maria and Darcourt alternate in narrating the novel's theme (obsession) before escaping from its grip by their mutual assistance, while other characters are less fortunate. What's Bred in the Bone narrates the artistic development of Canadian painter Francis Cornish, which is crowned by his stunning Marriage at Cana, an iconographic presentation of his personal myth; a color reproduction of Bronzino's Allegory exemplifies their stylistic kinship. While The Lyre of Orpheus is ostensibly focused on the completion and staging of an unfinished Hoffmann opera, it narrates the ameliorative personal development of the characters who interact during that project.

About Author

The Author: Emeritus Professor of English at California State University Chico, Victor J. Lams received his Ph.D. in English from Northwestern University. He has written five earlier books, all published by Peter Lang: two on Richardson's novel Clarissa (1999, 2001) and three others on John Henry Newman, two of them on his Parochial Sermons (2004, 2006), and most recently The Rhetoric of Newman's Apologia Pro Catholica, 1845-1864 (2007).

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781433102288
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 218
  • ID: 9781433102288
  • weight: 540
  • ISBN10: 1433102285
  • edition: New edition

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly