Sardinian Chronicles (Chicago Studies in Ethnomusicology 2nd ed.)

Sardinian Chronicles (Chicago Studies in Ethnomusicology 2nd ed.)

By: Bernard Lortat-Jacob (author), Teresa Lavender Fagan (translator), Michel Leiris (foreword_author)Mixed Media

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks


This work introduces the reader to Sardinian music through a series of encounters with individual musicians and their families. Refusing to separate the music from the world in which it arises, the author offers 12 vignettes focused on individuals such as Cocco, a chicken farmer who deciphers the shapes of his fowl and the layout of his henhouses in the constellations of a summer sky, and Pietro, a sleep-walking postman who divides his time between mail deliveries and impromptu serenades. These vignettes bring to life an art still very much alive: the music of villages with an oral tradition, sung or played in the company of others. Through these portraits of music makers and their families, Lortat-Jacob overcomes some of the epistemological and methodological dilemmas facing the modern field of ethnomusicology, while also giving the general reader a sense of the multiple and idiosyncratic ways that music is involved in everyday life. A compact disc containing samples of the music being discussed is also provided.

About Author

Bernard Lortat-Jacob is director of research at the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique in Paris and is head of the ethnomusicological laboratory at the Musee de l'Homme."

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780226493404
  • Format: Mixed Media
  • Number Of Pages: 128
  • ID: 9780226493404
  • weight: 367
  • ISBN10: 0226493407
  • translations: French
  • edition: 2nd ed.

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly