Scrublands

Scrublands

By: Chris Hammer (author)Hardback

Pre-Order released 8th January 2019

£11.89 RRP £16.99  You save £5.10 (30%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20

Description

'A heatwave of a novel, scorching and powerful... Extraordinary' AJ Finn A powerful, compelling, vividly written Australian crime novel that will be perfect for fans of Peter May and Jane Harper. A dead river. A dying town. A killer's secrets... In an isolated country town ravaged by drought, a charismatic young priest opens fire on his congregation, killing five men before being shot dead himself. A year later, journalist Martin Scarsden arrives in Riversend to write a feature on the anniversary of the tragedy. But the stories he hears from the locals don't fit with the accepted version of events. Just as Martin believes he is making headway, a shocking discovery rocks the town. The bodies of two backpackers - missing since the time of the massacre - are found in the scrublands. The media descends on Riversend and Martin is the one in the spotlight. Wrestling with his own demons, Martin finds himself risking everything to uncover a truth that becomes more complex with every twist. But there are powerful forces determined to stop him, and he has no idea how far they will go to make sure the town's secrets stay buried. 'Scrublands is the epic novel about rural life in Australia that we need right now ... Remarkable' Sydney Morning Herald

About Author

Chris Hammer has been a journalist for over twenty-five years. He has been an international correspondent for SBS TV's flagship current affairs program Dateline, the chief political correspondent for The Bulletin and a senior political journalist for The Age. His non-fiction book, The River, published by Melbourne University Publishing in 2010 to critical acclaim, was the recipient of the ACT Book of the Year Award and was shortlisted for the Walkley Book Award and the Manning Clark House National Cultural Award.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781472255129
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 496
  • ID: 9781472255129
  • weight: 742
  • ISBN10: 1472255127

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly

Close