Shelter

Shelter

By: Jung Yun (author)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

£8.63 RRP £11.99  You save £3.36 (28%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20

Description

Kyung Cho is a young father burdened by a house he can't afford. His debts have always seemed manageable, but lately they've spiraled out of control, and he is worried for his family's future. A few miles away, his parents, Jin and Mae, live in the town's most exclusive neighbourhood, surrounded by the material comforts that Kyung desires for his wife and son. Growing up, they gave him every possible advantage, but never kindness nor affection. Now, Kyung can hardly bear to see his parents, much less ask them for help. Yet when an act of violence leaves Jin and Mae unable to live on their own, the dynamic suddenly changes, and he feels compelled to take them in. Once more under the same roof, Kyung is forced to question what it means to be a good husband, father, and son, while the life he knew begins to crumble and his own anger demands to be released. As Shelter veers swiftly toward its startling conclusion, Jung Yun leads us through dark and violent territory, where, unexpectedly, the Chos discover hope. Shelter is a masterfully crafted debut novel that asks what it means to provide for one's family and, in answer, delivers a story as riveting as it is profound. One of The Millions' Most Anticipated Books of the Year (Selected by Edan Lepucki); Longlisted for the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize; For readers of Celeste Ng and Lauren Groff.

About Author

JUNG YUN was born in South Korea, grew up in North Dakota, and educated at Vassar College, the University of Pennsylvania, and University of Massachusetts at Amherst. Her work has appeared in Tin House (the "Emerging Voices" issue); The Best of Tin House: Stories, edited by Dorothy Allison; and The Massachusetts Review; and she is the recipient of two Artist Fellowships in fiction from the Massachusetts Cultural Council and an honorable mention for the Pushcart Prize. Currently, she lives in Baltimore with her husband and serves as an Assistant Professor of English at the George Washington University.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781250118097
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 336
  • ID: 9781250118097
  • ISBN10: 1250118093

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly

Close