Ship of Gold: A Novel

Ship of Gold: A Novel

By: Thomas B. Allen (author), Norman Polmar (author)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

Description

Ship of Gold is an exciting, fast-paced tale of action, intrigue, and adventure on the high seas - told with the ringing authenticity only firsthand knowledge can impart. In 1945, the U.S. submarine Tigerfish mistakenly torpedoed and sunk a Japanese cargo ship. The ship, allegedly carrying supplies to allied POWs, had been given safe passage. But, in fact, the Osaka Maru was a Japanese Trojan horse: a cunning ruse devised by a powerful secret society to transport tons of gold out of Japan under the very eyes of the enemy. Some thirty years later, the commander of the Tigerfish is murdered in Washington. As the CIA launches its investigation into his death, a race to raise the ship and recover its treasure begins, which mounts to an international incident involving the U.S., China, the Soviet Union and Japan. The action of this taut thriller provides the behind-the-scenes reality of the national security system at work-the CIA, the Oval Office, the Pentagon, and the National Security Council-all scrambling to solve the crisis and to have control of the operation. It is a stunning portrait that all too closely resembleThe Hunt for Red October, is must-reading for fans of Tom Clancy, Clive Cussler, and Alistair MacLean.

About Author

Thomas B. Allen is well known for his writing in the subject of espionage and military history. His writings on intelligence and related topics have appeared in such national publications as Smithsonian and the Washington Post Magazine, in addition to the Naval Institute's Proceedings and Naval History magazines. Norman Polmar is an internationally known analyst, consultant, and award-winning author specialising in naval, aviation, and intelligence areas. He has participated in or directed major studies in these areas for the U.S. Department of Defense and Navy, and served as a consultant to U.S. and foreign commercial firms and government agencies. He has been an advisor or consultant on naval issues to three U.S. Secretaries of the Navy and two Chiefs of Naval Operations, as well as to three U.S. Senators and a Speaker of the House of Representatives. He has 50 published books to his credit, including eight previous editions of The Naval Institute Guide to the Ships and Aircraft of the U.S. Fleet and four editions of Guide to the Soviet Navy as well as U.S. Nuclear Arsenal, Ship Killer, and Project Azorian. Mr. Polmar is a columnist for Proceedings and Naval History magazines.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781591140726
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 288
  • ID: 9781591140726
  • ISBN10: 1591140722

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly

Close